Animal Collective announce new album ‘Painting With’ + share new track

Animal Collective Credit: Hisham Akira Bharoocha / Abby Portner
Credit: Hisham Akira Bharoocha / Abby Portner

Animal Collective have announced the release of their eleventh full-length album, ‘Painting With, ‘ which will be out globally on February 19 via Domino. Today, the band have also share first single FloriDada and you can stream it via YouTube below.

Dizzyingly upbeat and gloriously realized, their new LP bounces and pops with an urgent, ecstatic energy, propelled by polyrhythmic beats and gurgling modular synth, with Noah Lennox and Dave Portner’s vocals gleefully falling in and out of syncopation and off-kilter harmony.

Working as a trio, Portner (Avey Tare), Lennox (Panda Bear) and Brian Weitz (Geologist) began trading demos in early 2015, pursuing a goal of what Portner calls “really short songs: no B.S, get in, get out material…” The three met up in Asheville during that Spring and began exploring the songs together. Recording took place in the legendary EastWest Studios in Hollywood, home to sessions by The Beach Boys and Marvin Gaye. The album features contributions from John Cale and Colin Stetson, and was engineered by Sonny DiPerri.

‘Painting With’ is warm and personal, kaleidoscopic and high definition, concerned with art (Cubism, Dadaism, and the distorted way those artists viewed the world) and the human experience, and the meeting of both – creating something elemental, joyous, and unmistakably Animal Collective.

The album will be available in standard CD, LP, and a deluxe LP + 7″ + zoetropic turntable slipmat formats. The album in CD and LP formats will be available in three different covers, featuring each Animal Collective member – Avey Tare, Geologist, and Panda Bear – as painted by Brian DeGraw. The deluxe LP + 7″ + turntable slipmat format exclusively available via the Animal Collective and Domino webstores includes a choice of one of the three covers, in addition to a limited edition 7″ featuring two exclusive non-album tracks mailed at a later date, and a slipmat that animates when activated in part with a strobe light.

Pre-order ‘Painting With’ via the Animal Collective Store /Dom Mart / iTunes. All pre-orders come with an instant download of FloriDada.

Animal Collective Painting With

‘Painting With’ track listing:
1. FloriDada
2. Hocus Pocus
3. Vertical
4. Lying In The Grass
5. The Burglars
6. Natural Selection
7. Bagels In Kiev
8. On Delay
9. Spilling Guts
10. Summing The Wretch
11. Golden Gal
12. Recycling