Loom announce debut album details + share new track ‘Hate’

      Comments Off on Loom announce debut album details + share new track ‘Hate’

LoomHaving received critical acclaim from the likes of Zane Lowe, Daniel P Carter, NME, The Line Of Best Fit, Clash, DIY and with a string of renowned live shows supporting the likes of The Rolling Stones and Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes in their wake, today, Loom have announced the details for their highly anticipated debut album.

Two years in the making, Loom’s 10 track self-titled debut features the band’s singles Hate and Bleed On Me along with eight brand new tracks. The new album is now available to pre-order via PledgeMusic, with Hate as an instant grat with your pre-order.

Loom cover
Track listing

1. Lice
2. Hate
3. Get A Taste
4. Leopard
5. Salt
6. Seasick
7. Bleed On Me
8. Nailbender
9. Barbed Wire
10. Slowly Freezing Heart


You can take a listen to Hate, which is lifted from the album via YouTube below.

More about Loom? Loom formed through a shared distaste, boredom, and frustration with new music. They recorded and released two cassettes within their first year, the latter being a showcase of their most prominent initial influences – a six-track covers ep of The Jesus Lizard, Bad Brains, Pixies, GG Allin, Misfits, and Warsaw. They felt that it was a necessity to broadcast their intent as a band as aggressively and directly as possible.

Loom took a step back from the initial ‘hype’, with frontman Tarik Badwan saying “Labels and journalists were quick to assume we had a certain sound and wanted to have an influence on that.” The band didn’t want to make someone else’s idea of a debut album.

The songs Loom have written needed to be presented exactly how they want them to be. They didn’t want to be accused of contrived revivalism or as part of a particular scene. They needed to find the right producers and the right label to understand where they were coming from. The band recorded half of their debut album themselves and the other half with John Coxon at the legendary Ray Davies’ Konk studios.

The result is a collection of songs that are made cohesive by the aggression that runs throughout them. It very much spans the spectrum of sub-genres that all essentially come from that same place – tracks such as Lice, Bleed On Me and Hate all merge that 70’s Stooges punk thrust and a 90’s grunge infused sound, meanwhile Barbed Wire exhibits a more classic US hardcore punk drive, whilst Seasick calls to mind the sounds of The Melvins. Later tracks such as Nailbender even leans towards a more Metal-influenced Misfits-esque goth-punk sound.

The debut album is the biggest statement a band makes and Loom have spent the best part of four years preparing theirs. Having perfected the ten tracks that make up their self-titled album and with a vast range of critical acclaim, renowned live shows and a series of sold out releases in their arsenal, it’s obvious Loom now have everything they need to show everyone what they’re capable of on their own terms.

For more information on Loom, visit loomtheband.com.