Underøath announce ‘Erase Me’ + share new song ‘On My Teeth’

      Comments Off on Underøath announce ‘Erase Me’ + share new song ‘On My Teeth’

UnderøathUnderøath release ‘Erase Me,’ their sixth studio album and first since 2010, via Fearless Records on April 6. The band have shared their first new song in nearly a decade to tease the new album. Watch the video for On My Teeth via YouTube below.

“We’ve had success and we’ve come through a lot of waters,” explains drummer/vocalist Aaron Gillespie. “There’s been 11,000 things we’ve been through so you would think, almost rhetorically, ‘What do you need now?’ All of us are finally in that place in our lives where the only thing we care about is inclusion for everybody—for the world. For me, exclusion is the scariest thing in the world. And I think Underoath coming back now with a new record—which none of us thought was possible—we want people to know that this is your music and you can feel however the fuck you want about it. I just want to prove that we are doing everything in the most honest way we ever have. This is the healthiest we’ve ever been as a group of people, as musicians, and in our worldview.”

Gillespie’s quote touches on the narratives behind the 11-song release: addressing the dire circumstances that led to the demise of the band, the ability to, now, be true to themselves and with their listeners as well as the individual band members disenchantment with religion.

“We took a step away and then we realized that we are a family,” adds singer Spencer Chamberlain. “We do miss it and we miss each other. We made the decision to never play again as Underoath and then we let that sit a couple of years. Band members rebuilt themselves and their friendships–and then we rebuilt the band.”

‘Erase Me’ was written and recorded over the summer of 2017 with producer Matt Squire (Panic! At The Disco, 3OH!3) and mixed by Ken Andrews (Failure, Jimmy Eat World).

Erase Me album cover

Erase Me album cover

‘Erase Me’ tracklist

  • It Has To Start Somewhere
  • Rapture
  • On My Teeth
  • Wake Me
  • Bloodlust
  • Sink With You
  • Ihateit
  • Hold Your Breath
  • No Frame
  • In Motion
  • I Gave Up

‘Erase Me’ pre-orders will be available this evening (9 pm pacific/12 midnight eastern) with digital pre-orders including an instant download of On My Teeth. Digital pre-orders are available via found.ee/eraseme with physical bundles available here: found.ee/underoathbundles.

Underøath has confirmed a number of festival appearances, with headlining dates to be announced soon:

April 20 Las Vegas, NV Las Rageous

April 27 Jacksonville, FL Welcome to Rockville

April 28 Sunrise, FL Fort Rock

May 4 Charlotte, NC Carolina Rebellion

May 18 – 20 Columbus, OH Rock on the Range

May 26 Pryor, OK Rocklahoma

June 15 Paris, France Download Festival Paris

June 16 Amsterdam, Netherlands Melkweg

June 21 Dessel, Belgium Festivalpark Stenehi

June 22 – 24 Scheessel, Germany Hurricane Festival

June 22 – 24 Neuhausen Ob Eck, Germany Southside Festival

June 23 Dessel Belgium Graspop Metal Meeting

June 28 Prague, Czech Republic Aerodrome Festival

June 29 Madrid, Spain Download Festival Madrid

June 30 Ysselsteyn, Netherlands Jera on Air

July 12 – 14 Cadott, WI Rock Fest

July 13 Oshkosh, WI Rock USA

July 28 – 29  Montreal, QC  Heavy Montreal

August 24 Reading, UK Reading Festival

August 25 Leeds, UK Leeds Festival