Parquet Courts announce new album ‘Wide Awake!’

      Comments Off on Parquet Courts announce new album ‘Wide Awake!’

Parquet Court Wide Awake! cover artParquet Courts have announced that they will release their fifth album ‘Wide Awake!’ – produced by Danger Mouse – on 18th May, and will be heading out on a worldwide tour (dates below).

Pre-order ‘Wide Awake!’ here on deluxe vinyl*, standard vinyl, CD and MP3. T-shirts and scarves designed by Parquet Courts are also available exclusively from the Rough Trade Records webstore.

*deluxe vinyl includes a 16-page double booklet of art and illustration by the band’s Grammy-nominated artist A. Savage – available exclusively from the Rough Trade Records webstore and all other indie relatailers. Here’s a sneak peek:

You can check out the video for Almost Had To Start A Fight / In And Out Of Patience via YouTube below.

On working with producer Danger Mouse, A. Savage explains: “The ethos behind every Parquet Courts record is that there needs to be change for the better, and the best way to tackle that is to step out of one’s comfort zone. I personally liked the fact that I was writing a record that indebted to punk and funk, and Brian’s a pop producer who’s made some very polished records. I liked that it didn’t make sense.”

For both Savage and co-frontman Austin Brown, this record represents the duality of coping and confrontation. “In such a hateful era of culture, we stand in opposition to that — and to the nihilism used to cope with that — with ideas of passion and love,” says Brown. He goes onto say that he found himself “writing songs I’ve been wanting to write but never had the courage” on this record.

‘Wide Awake!’ tracklisting

1. Total Football

2. Violence

3. Before the Water Gets Too high

4. Mardi Gras Beads

5. Almost Had to Start a Fight/In And Out of Patience

6. Freebird II

7. Normalization

8. Back to Earth

9. Wide Awake

10. NYC Observation

11. Extinction

12. Death Will Bring Change

13. Tenderness

Andrew, Austin, Sean and Max are taking ‘Wide Awake!’ on the road – check out the list of dates below.

Parquet Courts tour dates

Tue. Apr. 24 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall

Thu. Apr. 26 – Austin, TX @ Stubb’s – Levitation w/ Ty Segall

Fri. Apr. 27 – Norman, OK @ Norman Music Festival

Sat. Apr. 28 – Dallas, TX @ Sons of Hermann Hall

Sun. Apr. 29 – Englewood, CO @ The Gothic Theatre

Sat. May 5 – Atlanta, GA @ Shaky Knees Festival 

Wed. May 23 – Boston, MA @ Royale w/ Goat Girl

Thu. May 24 – Providence, RI @ Fete Ballroom w/ Goat Girl

Fri. May 25 – Portland, ME @ Port City Music Hall w/ Goat Girl

Sat. May 26 – Montreal, QC @ Theatre Fairmount w/ Goat Girl

Sun. May 27 – Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Theatre w/ Goat Girl

Mon. May 28 – Detroit, MI @ El Club w/ Goat Girl

Wed. May 30 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre w/ Goat Girl

Thu. May 31 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line w/ Goat Girl

Fri. June 1 – Lawrence, KS @ The Granada w/ Goat Girl

Sat. June 2 – St Louis, MO @ Ready Room w/ Goat Girl

Sun. June 3 – Nashville, TN @ Basement East w/ Goat Girl

Tue. June 5 – Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel w/ Goat Girl

Wed. June 6 – Carborro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle w/ Goat Girl

Thu. June 7 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club w/ Goat Girl

Fri. June 8 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer w/ Goat Girl

Wed. July 4 – Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg

Thu. July 5 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

Fri. July 6 – Groningen, NL @ Vera

Sun. July 8 – Hérouville saint Clair, FR @ Festival Beauregard Festival

Thu. July 12 – Bilbao, ES @ Bilbao BBK Festival

Sat. July 14 – Beccles, UK @ Latitude Festival

Sun. July 15 – Kortrijk, BE @ De Kreun

Tue. July 17 – Duedingen, CH @ Bad Bonn