FIGHTMILK praise self-love in new video for ‘Overbite’

FIGHTMILK press photo

London’s FIGHTMILK have shared a gorgeous, heartfelt animated video for their uplifting new single Overbite which is out now on all good DSPs. Overbite is the latest single to be taken from the band’s forthcoming second album ‘Contender’. Released May 14th 2021 via independent record label Reckless Yes, the record will be available on cream/smoked vinyl and ‘lucky dip’ eco vinyl, CD, and digital. Watch the Overbite video clip via YouTube below.

With its evocative and playful video created by illustrator and animator Jono Ganz, the track is a love song to anybody with a fear of the dentist, and a reminder that you are perfect just as you are.

Commenting on the track, the band said: “Somehow, for a song that’s pretty much about a) fancying someone with wonky teeth and b) a little mantra to remind you that you’re perfect exactly as you are, this turned out sounding like gothy surf-rock, or as Healey said when we were working on it, ‘like every My Chemical Romance song being played at the same time.’”

“We decided to double down: synths, gang vocals and pick scrapes, oh my! This is one of the most uplifting, happy songs we’ve written, and by bookending the album with big joyful explosions, maybe it’ll do something to soothe the collective woe we’ve all been living through. We’re also incredibly excited that the amazing Jono Ganz is bringing our gothy-surf-rock vision to life with the animated music video.”

Taking place in a spooky fairground, the video is all about a central character who becomes totally besotted with the grumpy vampire on the ghost train. “Half this band are total Halloween obsessives and we loved the vintage spooky ‘beistle’ style that Jono created—all deep oranges and browns and blacks,” say the band. “We also loved seeing ourselves represented by a retro skeleton band, complete with grill mic and upright bass! This video suits the song so well—we couldn’t stop smiling when Jono sent it over, and we hope it brings you a ton of joy.”

Commenting on working with the band, director Ganz said: “I was super happy to be able to add to the Retro Cartoon Fightmilk canon (following Healey’s beautiful Charlie Brown Xmas EP art). We shared all the same visual references, and it was a real treat having my inbox filled with spooky skeletons and cursed-looking amusement parks. The design for the skeleton slot machine is based on something that I was thrilled to find out is called a ‘bimbo-box’.”

You can also stream Overbite here:

Tour plans remain on hold for the time being due to COVID, but ‘Contender’ can wait no longer, and will be released on May 14 2021 via Reckless Yes. Preorder here:

FIGHTMILK Contender cover artwork

Contender’ track list

  1. (contender)
  2. Lucky Coin
  3. Hey Annabelle!
  4. I’m Starting To Think You Don’t Even Want To Go To Space
  5. The Absolute State Of Me
  6. Girls Don’t Want To Have Fun
  7. Cool Cool Girl
  8. (tender)
  9. Banger #4
  10. If You Had A Sister…
  11. You Are Not The Universe
  12. Maybe
  13. (bartender)
  14. Overbite
More about FIGHTMILK


Lily (she/her): vox/guitar
Alex (he/him): guitar/vox
Healey (they/them): bass/vox
Nick (he/him): drums/vox

Taking influence from a broad spread of artists including Sharon van Etten, The Beths, Charly Bliss, Bully, Speedy Ortiz, Liz Phair, The Lemonheads, Japanese Breakfast, and that dog., FIGHTMILK are the perfect soundtrack to your “why can’t I adult like everyone else my age?” life.

The band formed in the beer gardens of London in 2015 when Lily and Alex decided to turn their then-recent respective breakups into FIGHTMILK, creating an indiepop soundtrack by which to navigate millennial life. Their first two EPs – one self-released in 2016 (The Curse of Fightmilk), and the next (Pity Party) put out through uber-indie label Fierce Panda – strode ahead of signing to Reckless Yes for the release of their first album.

Their 2018 debut LP ‘Not With That Attitude’ was released on limited edition pink vinyl, CD and digital, gaining a fan in Steve Lamacq (BBC 6Music) as well as praise from Echoes and Dust, Drowned in Sound, and Louder Than War Magazine, appearing in many end of year picks.

Now sold out (but still available digitally of course), their debut is well loved by listeners and critics alike who recognised a perfectly written set of alt-rock tunes capturing the chaos and shambles of relationships wrapped in anthemic power-pop riffs. 

While the band planned to take their time crafting forthcoming second album ‘Contender,’ they hadn’t factored in a global pandemic and the delays it would cause. Marking a maturing of their sound the record also sees a step-change in their writing and recording, as they welcomed new member Healey (formerly of Wolf Girl) on bass, and took a more collaborative approach than past efforts. 

Like the writing process, recording also took more time, again thanks to Covid-19. Recorded in two sessions a year apart at Dean Street Studios in London, the band saw plans for a UK tour suddenly pulled as the release of the first single from the record, I’m Starting To Think You Don’t Even Want To Go To Space, coincided with the first lockdown in March 2020.

While waiting to be able to return to the studio and complete work on the project, the band took creative detours throughout 2020 with home-recorded Christmas (Fightmilk and Cookies) and cover (The FME EP) EPs raising money for Girls Rock London and The Trussell Trust.

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.