Air’s JB Dunckel shares Valentine’s Day single ‘Love Machine’

JB Dunckel
Photo Credit: Akatre

JB Dunckel, one half of the duo Air, has released a third, special Valentine’s Day single, Love Machine, which is lifted from his upcoming sophomore, solo album, ‘H+,’ out March 16 via SONY Music France/Jive Epic. It follows December’s Hold On + January’s Transhumanity. Take a listen to Love Machine via Soundcloud below.

Pre-Order ‘H+’ via iTunes

Jean-Benoît is back in the guise of an augmented man with ‘H+,’ an exceptionally futuristic, optimistic and contemporary sound odyssey. A little over ten years after his first solo album, ‘Darkel’ (2006) — and following his 2013 collaboration with Lou Hayter, Tomorrow’s World and 2015 album with Barði Jóhannsson, Starwalker — ‘H+’ sets the tone through its album cover created by French design studio Akatre, depicting the artist in a utopian landscape.  ‘H+’ represents a positively charged hydrogen ion, known as a proton; it also is the symbol of transhumanism.

After having alternated solo albums, using his Darkel alias, with Air projects, “in order,” said Jean-Benoît, “to avoid being soluble in Air – for Air is white and ‘Darkel’ is… well, dark,” he set his sights on recapturing the entirety of his being. “I use the sound experiences of Air; I just extend my Air sound in a solo setting. I don’t renounce the past, in fact I exploit it quite openly,” the artist recently explained.

Scoring film soundtracks — Fabrice Gobert’s K.O. (2017), Olivier Babinet’s Swagger, and Alanté Kavaïté’s Summer (both from 2015) — apparently confirmed Jean-Benoît’s exponential taste for loads of violins and improvisation in the studio. Many of his songs are based on the barest of piano melodies and a vocal style that is smoother and freer than ever. Years of singing on tour with Air strengthened his voice; it now has a deeper range and tone, while remaining androgynous. The mixture of longevity and a love of transformation bring to mind David Bowie; and one could easily imagine the cozy sound bubbles Dunckel produces — with the ideals of “sex & space” never far from his mind — being performed three thousand years from now in a cosmic jazz version.

With his favorite synthesizers, the MS20 and the Arp 2600, Jean-Benoît spent a lot of time honing this album aboard his private spaceship, a way of thumbing his nose at the wave of dystopias that make mincemeat of all our hopes and dreams, by creating a future in which “romantic transhumanism” reigns, “man never ages, and love is eternal.”

‘H+’ track listing

01.  Hold On
02.  Love Machine
03.  The Garden
04.  Transhumanity
05.  Qwartz
06.  Slow Down the Wind (Up)
07.  Space Age
08.  In Between the Two Moons
09.  Show Your Love
10.  Ballad Non Sense
11.  Carpet Bombing
12.  Kill for You

For more information on JB Dunckel, visit