American Nightmare announce 20th anniversary tour for debut ‘Year One’

American Nightmare press photo

In celebration of the 20th anniversary of ‘Year One,’ a compilation of the band’s first two EP’s, American Nightmare will head out on a North American tour and re-release the album via Heartworm Press and Bridge Nine Records in Winter 2020.

In February 2000, Wesley Eisold, the singer and lyricist behind American Nightmare, self-booked the band’s first-ever show in a church in Portland, Maine. The show not only spurred one of the most prodigal tenures of hardcore punk, but it also set a precedent for the band’s relentless DIY ethic, volatile musicianship, and bleeding heart lyricism. As a band and as a philosophy, American Nightmare set a new standard for the worldwide hardcore community. American Nightmare’s first two EPs, ‘American Nightmare’ and ‘The Sun Isn’t Getting Any Brighter,’ were released as an LP by Bridge Nine in 2001. Defying styles, trends, and even names, American Nightmare quickly rose as a bellwether to the giants of punk, metal, and mainstream music. After releasing several EP’s and two LP’s, the band split in 2004 before reforming in 2011, with Eisold pouring time and talent into his new wave outfit Cold Cave in the interim. The ‘Year One’ reissue will be released via Heartworm Press and Bridge Nine Records on February 7, 2020.

A full tour itinerary can be found below. Tickets will be available at on Friday, October 11.  Stay tuned for more updates. 

20th Anniversary tour dates

02/13 – Boston, MA @ Royale
02/14 – New York City @ Brooklyn Steel
02/16 – Philadelphia, PA @ Theatre of the Living Arts
02/19 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom
02/20 – Detroit, MI @ Magic Stick
02/21 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
02/22 – Minneapolis, MI @ Fine Line Music Hall
02/25 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
02/26 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Complex Grand
02/28 – Portland, OR @ Hawthorne
02/29 – Vancouver, BC @ Imperial Theatre
03/01 – Seattle, WA @ The Showbox
03/06 – San Fransisco, CA @ The Fillmore
03/14 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda 

American Nightmare is:
Wesley Eisold
Josh Holden
Brian Masek
Alex Garcia-Rivera
Jim Carroll 

American Nightmare 20th anniversary poster