Art d’Ecco covers Sparks with ‘Angst In My Pants’

Art d'Ecco press photo
Photo credit to Mike Pepperdine

Following the release of his cover of The Jam’s hit, That’s Entertainment, androgynous glam-rocker Art d’Ecco offers up a new and magnificent take on the synth-pop brilliance of Sparks with Angst In My Pants. Listen to the Sparks cover via YouTube below.

Before making my last record I jokingly said to my band, if one more person or media outlet says I sound like Sparks I’m gonna cover them,” recalls Art. Sparks are the widely influential American, art-pop duo of Russell and Ron Mael who formed in 1967. The Sparks documentary by director Edgar Wright, is out now.

Art d’Ecco released his new album, ‘In Standard Definition’ in April. As a whole, ‘In Standard Definition,’ ruminates on our endless fixation on TV and celebrity culture. It pulls back the curtain on our unhealthy obsessions, as illustrated by lead single/video for TV God and second track/video, Head Rush that made itself at home in the top 20 at Canadian Alt Radio for the past three months. They sit alongside the disco infused, latest single I Am The Dance Floor and the sultry stomper, Desires and Good Looks which ruminates on the inherent casualties found in the world of online dating.

‘In Standard Definition’ struts with the striking tonal resemblance of ‘70s glam, oscillating between new wave and new romantic via C86 infusions, or the simplicity of John Lennon’s Plastic Ono Band. Earning his producer stripes, d’Ecco played musical ringleader, building the tracks’ layers with a revolving door of hand-picked musicians: jazz and blues players on horns, Victoria Symphony Orchestra’s string players, soul singers, and his suited and booted live band. With shrewd attention to structure, the album’s episodic nature can be experienced in its entirety or dialed in and out, with instrumental interludes Channel 7 (Pilot Season) and Channel 10 (Reruns) aligning Lynchian drama with their sinister sounds, to capture actors’ struggles during Tinsteltown’s pilot season. “The enduring highs and lows of a performer struggling to be seen. I wanted to write from that vantage point as much as I wanted to illuminate what we’re all celebrating.”

‘In Standard Definition’ track list

1. Desires
2. TV God
3. Bird Of Prey
4. Nothing Ever Changes
5. I Am The Dance Floor
6. Head Rush
7. Channel 7 (Pilot Season)
8. In Standard Definition
9. Good Looks
10. The Message
11. Channel 11 (Reruns)
12. I Remember

Get ‘In Standard Definition’ here

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.