Baxter Dury shares new single ‘Aylesbury Boy’

Baxter Dury press photo
Photo credit: Tom Beard

Musician, writer and Renaissance man Baxter Dury returns with his new track Aylesbury Boy, lifted from his seventh studio album ‘I Thought I Was Better Than You’. Due for release June 2, 2023 via Heavenly Recordings, the album is produced by Paul White, celebrated for his work in Golden Rules and with the likes of Charli XCX and Danny Brown. The new album will be available on a limited edition translucent pink vinyl, and there will also be a special Rough Trade edition which is blue, and also a standard black edition. You can order the album here. Hotly-tipped new singer-songwriters Eska and JGrrey feature in addition to Baxter’s regular vocalist Madeline Hart. 

Watch the video for Aylesbury Boy via YouTube below.

On the new track Baxter says: “This song is about coming from one place and arriving at another without fitting in to either, and I think of these people like characters from Studio Ghibli’s Spirited Away.”   

Day ghosts raised by long faces,” he sings in his over gesticulated, Ladbroke Grovian sputter: if a ‘Day Ghost’ is “someone who roams the streets avoiding school”, and a ‘Long Face’ is a “disappointed adult”, then this line takes on a new emotional weight, drawing out are sympathy and unlocking the unique language of Baxter’s imagination. When you combine this with the swinging hip-hop beat, it makes for a dizzying combination of humor and poignancy – a Baxter Dury special.  Last album ‘The Night Chancers’ received the best reviews of Baxter’s career, and the first volume of his memoir, Chaise Tongue, was similarly critically acclaimed. 

‘I Thought I Was Better Than You’ track listing

1. So Much Money 
2. Aylesbury Boy feat JGrrey
3. Celebrate Me 
4. Leon 
5. Crashes 
6. Sincere 
7. Pale White Nissan feat JGrrey 
8. Shadow 
9. Crowded Rooms 
10. Glows 

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.