Bee Bee Sea announces new LP ‘Sonic Boomerang’

Bee Bee Sea

Bee Bee SeaItalian band Bee Bee Sea have announced their sophomore LP, ‘Sonic Boomerang,’ out November 17th via Dirty Water Records USA (digital, cassette) and Wild Honey Records (vinyl). Currently available for pre-order, it features a high-energy, fuzzed-out mix of garage and psych rock that calls to mind bands like Thee Oh Sees and Black Lips.

Lead single D.I. Why Why Why embodies everything that makes Bee Bee Sea’s songs so addictive, opening with a catchy surf-rock riff and driving percussion before the band’s fuzzy, layered vocals kick in. Take a listen to the track via Soundcloud below.

Though relatively unknown outside of Italy, Bee Bee Sea has made a name for itself locally since the release of 2015’s S/T debut, opening for acts like Thee Oh Sees, Night Beats, Black Lips, and King Khan & the Shrines and having songs featured in commercials for Fiat, DC Skateboarding, and New Balance. Last year saw the release of a three-track EP titled ‘3 Songs and Jacques Dutronc,’ and ‘Sonic Boomerang’ takes things to the next level with a fuller, more fleshed-out sound.

‘Sonic Boomerang’ track listing

1. Sonic Boomerang
2. D.I. Why Why Why
3. I Shouted
4. This Dog Is The King Of Losers
5. Chum On The Drum
6. Psycho Babe
7. No Fellas
8. I Shouted II

The band has a handful of live dates coming up this winter — see below for all upcoming shows.

Upcoming shows

7 Nov – Perugia, Urban Club
18 Nov – Rosà (VI), Vinile Club
1 Dec – Milano, Circolo Magnolia
15 Dec –  Brescia, Lio Bar (Release Party)
16 Dec – Teramo, Fazenda
22 Dec – Parma, WOPA
23 Dec – Ravenna, Bronson
13 Jan – Mezzago (MB), Bloom
2 Feb – Piacenza, Musici Per Caso
3 Feb – Schio (VI), CSA Arcadia
17 Feb – Padova, Fishmarket