Black Baron announces debut LP ‘Abject Skin’ + share first single

Black Baron

There’s an intoxicating feeling inside Hamilton, Ontario, and Black Baron has distilled the essence of that feeling into a potent brew by creating songs from the fabric of Hamilton. While the local hardcore scene has been cutting records reminiscent of the city’s steel mills since the early 1990’s, Black Baron creates the soundtrack to a different side of the city. Take a listen to Fluorescent Light, the first single lifted from ‘Abject Skin,’ which will be out May 26, 2015 via Bloodmoss Records – pre-order it here.

Black Baron’s music is rooted in a deep sense of melancholy, one that does not seek destruction, but rather seeps its way into the collective consciousness following the potentiality of destruction or abandonment. Coming from a city devastated by economic decline following the shrinking of its industrial sector, Black Baron evokes the haunting memory of the closure and loss of Hamilton landmarks at a time when the city appears to be on a cultural upswing. The band’s debut full-length album ‘Abject Skin,’ which is chock full of new material along with refined versions of tracks taken from their 2013 tape ‘Divine Chains,’ is a representation of a band sticking to their hometown roots all while carving their own vicious path.

Track listing:

1. Twisting Fate
2. Devil’s Touch
3. Bitter Kiss
4. Canary In a Mineshaft
5. Divine Chains
6. Fluorescent Light
7. Watch Me Sleep
8. Sullen Skies
9. Life In Vain
10. Abject Skin

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.