Corey Flood share new track ‘Honey’

Corey Flood press photo
Photo Credit: Marcus Maddox

Corey Flood have shared Honey, a new track lifted from the band’s forthcoming debut album out in September via Fire Talk. The track is a co-written by Ivy Gray-Klein and Em Boltz, that takes on the explicitly personal, yet universal, feeling of investing in someone, or something, and the realization that your efforts and emotions were misplaced.  Summing up this feeling of disregarded investment comes the perfectly poignant standout lyric “it could be so simple / my paltry feelings / steeped in honey”. Oscillating between the softer guitar and bass lines on the verse punctuated by the subtle breakdown on the chorus, Honey sonically emulates the mercurial up and down of these relationships and, as Ivy says below, the flood that comes with it.

Ivy explains: “I think this song is a great balance of Em and I each contributing verses to build something more nuanced. For me, this song is about investing so much time and emotion into a person that ultimately isn’t warranted and trying to figure out what you’re left with. The chorus could refer to a flood of emotions, a flood of miscommunication, a flood of feeling empty…”

Em adds: “I had this white coat that I used to love. The coat really exemplified a distinct era of my life. I had just moved to Philly and I didn’t really have friends so I spent a lot of time alone. I was trying to learn how to appreciate the mundane. I would take long walks.”

Listen to Honey via YouTube below.

There’s a vague sense of unease that permeates Corey Flood’s debut full-length, ‘Hanging Garden,’ out September 5th via Fire Talk. On the surface, the record appears to break through the dark fog of the band’s 2018 EP, ‘Wish You Hadn’t,’ but just below lay themes of ambivalence, uncertainty, and anxiety, layered elegantly in fuzz.

Recorded in Philadelphia by Jackie Milestone, mixed by Natasha Jacobs, and mastered by Sarah Register, ‘Hanging Garden’  pushes through feelings of discomfort and repressed emotions to discover what truly lies beneath. 

Born in Philly circa 2017, Corey Flood began as the post-grad bedroom project of bassist Ivy Gray-Klein (formerly of Littler) and drummer Juliette Rando. A month after their first show with guitarist Em Boltz, the band signed with New York’s Fire Talk Records and turned four planned demos into a full-fledged, delightfully menacing debut EP.

Now, after two years of intense growth and collaboration, the trio continues their “whirlwind trajectory” with the long-awaited, nine-track LP, ‘Hanging Garden’. Inspired by Throwing Muses, Helium, Pale Saints, and Brix Smith-Start’s work with the Fall, Gray-Klein calls ‘Hanging Garden’  “a reckoning with internal discord.” Through soft melodies, lush guitars and churning rhythms, the dual vocals of Gray-Klein and Boltz recall relatable experiences with gaslighting, imposter syndrome, and repetitive thoughts. ‘Hanging Garden’ feels intimate and familiar but is strewn with playful surprises, like 70s krautrock guitar work and samba-influenced drum parts. The LP is a mature stride forward, and a bewitching amble towards the unknown.

Corey Flood Hanging Garden cover artwork

‘Hanging Garden’ track list

1. Heaven Or
2. Down The Hill
3. Hive Mind
4. Honey
5. Park Deli 7
6. Crush
7. Slower Bleeder
8. Kind Stranger 
9. Poppies