Crime & The City Solution announce tour + compilation album

Crime & the City Solution

Crime & The City Solution will be touring for the first time in over 20 years this October with dates in Denver, Detroit, Chicago, Brooklyn, Los Angeles and San Francisco. See list of tour dates and ticket links below.

For this latest incarnation of Crime & The City Solution, the line up features Berlin era members Simon Bonney (vocals), Bronwyn Adams (violin) andAlexander Hacke (guitar), and will be joined by renowned visual artist Danielle de Picciotto, Jim White (drums, The Dirty Three), David Eugene Edwards (guitar, 16 Horsepower / Wovenhand), Troy Gregory (bass, The Dirtbombs / Swans / Spiritualized) and Matthew Smith (keyboards).

The live show will feature new music from ‘American Twilight’ (the band’s latest album) as well as reinterpretations of songs from the Berlin and London periods. It will also feature, for the first time, a powerful visual component designed by new member Danielle de Picciotto.

Live dates:

10/18 – Denver, CO @ The Oriental (Tickets)
10/19 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theater (Tickets)
10/21 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall (Tickets)
10/22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall Of Williamsburg (Tickets)
10/23 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda (Tickets)
10/24 – San Francisco, CA @ Slim’s (Tickets)

The tour follows the September 25 release of their compilation “An Introduction To… Crime & The City Solution / A History Of Crime – Berlin 1987 – 1991”  via Mute.  The tracklisting (see below) was chosen by the band from three Berlin era albums: “Shine” (1988), “The Bride Ship” (1989) and “Paradise Discotheque” (1990).

Track listing:

  1. All Must Be Love
  2. Hunter
  3. On Every Train (Grain Will Bear Grain)
  4. Home Is Far From Here
  5. Keepsake
  6. The Bride Ship
  7. Free World
  8. New World
  9. I Have The Gun
  10. The Dolphins & The Sharks
  11. The Sun Before The Darkness
  12. The Last Dictator Part 1
  13. The Last Dictator Part 2
  14. The Last Dictator Part 3
  15. The Last Dictator Part 4
  16. The Adversary

Check out the very cool track and video for On Every Train (Grain Will Bear Grain)  below which is lifted from  “An Introduction To… Crime & The City Solution / A History Of Crime – Berlin 1987 – 1991”

‘American Twilight’ is their new album set for release in early 2013 and the band’s first studio album since 1990’s ‘Paradise Discotheque.’

More about Crime & The City Solution? Crime & The City Solution have had several home bases and personnel changes, the first of which was formed by Simon Bonney in Sydney, Australia in 1977. In the next iteration, the band was based out of Melbourne. In 1984, Simon was encouraged to move to England by Mick Harvey (Birthday Party / The Bad Seeds), who joined the band along with Rowland S Howard, his brother Harry on bass and one time Swell Maps drummer Epic Soundtracks.

In 1987, Bonney and Harvey moved again to Berlin, and it is here that the A History Of Crime – Berlin 1987 – 1991 takes its inspiration. At this point, the band consisted of Simon Bonney, Mick Harvey, Einstürzende Neubauten’s Alexander Hacke, Thomas Stern, ex-DAF/Liaisons Dangereuses Chrislo Haas, and Bonney’s co-writer Bronwyn Adams.

For more information on Crime & The City Solution, visit

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.