Cuneiform releases ‘Unmake (feat. Shannon from Light Asylum)’

Cuneiform press photo
Credit: Chris Montgomery

Brooklyn-based post-punk trio Cuneiform have announced their debut album, ‘Reverse’ due September 24. [Presave] As a taster of the LP, Cuneiform released the single lifted from the album, Unmake (feat. Shannon Funchess) from Light Asylum. You can watch the visualizer via YouTube below or listen on DSPs. The track focuses on substance abuse that also broadly explores life’s all-too-familiar cycle of indulge; regret; repeat. The song’s subtle exotica is propelled by distorted industrial loops and explosive drums. 

The 10-track album, ‘Reverse’ opaquely traverses themes of numbing detachment and related alienation through mangled, manipulated instruments and patches. Creating ‘Reverse’ proved a perfectionist and at-times tortuous journey for Cuneiform. The meaningfully-paced collection of songs channels Tyndall’s instinctive sensibility for sonic adventure and intelligent pop through his enduring passion for Nine Inch Nails, Berlin-era Bowie, and early Love and Rockets. 

Cuneiform is vocalist and producer Sam Tyndall, guitarist Adam De Rosa, and drummer Spencer Kiss who have released a string of cultured industrial/darkwave singles that earned them considerable attention. Over the years, they have morphed into something increasingly expansive, nuanced and diverse in their musical style, especially on their upcoming release, ‘Reverse’. It’s a record that unfurls the darker folds of sonic history firmly towards the future – informed by late ‘70s art rock/post-punk and ‘90s industrial, electronic and shoegaze.

Cuneiform reverse cover artwork

Reverse’ track listing
1 – Verse
2 – Valence
3 – Breed
4 – Never
5 – Unmake (feat. Shannon Funchess)
6 – Logic
7 – Empty
8 – Again
9 – Reflect
10 – Reverse

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.