Daisy Glaze share single + video ‘Call Me Midnight’

Daisy Glaze press photo
Photo Credit: Kristin Gallegos

Daisy Glaze, aka Louis Epstein (HITS, Jump Into The Gospel) and Alix Brown (Angry Angles w/ Jay Reatard, Golden Triangle), have shared their newest single + video, Call Me Midnight. The track is lifted from their debut self-titled album out February 25 via The Sound of Sinners. Directed by Alexandra Cabral, the video provides a dream-like background for the song’s musings of chthonic love and its menacing beauty, as the duo engage in a mysterious and otherworldly back and forth. With a sound that seems plucked straight from a seductive space western, the track comes on the heels of their previous cinematic single Strangers In The Dark, and follows the same lusty and mythical mood showcased across the album. Check out the video clip for Call Me Midnight via YouTube below or  listen to the track.

Though only their debut album, ‘Daisy Glaze’ arrives fully formed; a nod to the psych-outlaw sound of the past with a definitive eye on the bleak side of the present — as if soundtracking a lost cinematic western in space. Produced by the legendary Sonic Boom (Spacemen 3, MGMT, Beach House, Iceage etc) and featuring over 10 tracks, the duo explore the sinister side of prismatic love and the different hues therein. Or as they explain, “More blues than pinks. Imagine the immortal words of Socrates who said ‘I drank what??’ But replace the poison he drank with Love.”

In 2016, Louis and Alix started writing songs and playing live with a 5-piece band, sharing the stage and headlining shows at various venues in New York City with The Black Lips, The Coathangers, Curtis Harding, and others. In 2019, the two flew to Portugal to record their debut LP with acclaimed producer Sonic Boom, who was an outsized influence on their sound and songwriting prior to working with him. Combining Louis’ new wave and brit-pop influences with Alix’s rock n’ roll bonafides, the two developed a sweeping cinematic sound that incorporates elements of Ennio Morricone, Jack Nitzche, and the much-loved ragged pop of Nancy Sinatra and Lee Hazlewood — with the visual aesthetics to match.

Daisy Glaze Album Art

‘Daisy Glaze’ track list
1. Occasum
2. Ray Of Light
3. Buffalo Thunder
4. Strangers In The Dark
5. Call Me Midnight
6. Ortus
7. Ghost of Elvis Presley
8. Mary Go Round
9. Statues of Villains
10. How The City Was Lost

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.