Dead Stars announce new album

Dead Stars
Photo Credit: Danny Krug
Dead Stars
Photo Credit: Danny Krug

Brooklyn trio Dead Stars has announced their new LP, ‘Slumber,’ will be out on June 17th via Old Flame Records, which is the follow-up to last summer’s ‘High Gain’ EP. ‘Slumber’ delivers more crunchy guitars and catchy hooks with a touch of ’90s nostalgia. The band has given us the first taste of the new record, and you can listen / download the ultra-catchy Someone Else via Soundcloud below.

The album will be one to pick up if this first track is any indication of the rest of the album.

Slumber cover Dead Stars‘Slumber’ track listing:
1. Someone Else
2. Summer Bummer
3. Walking Away
4. Crawl
5. Daylight
6. Older
7. Never Knew You
8. Disappearing
9. Dreaming To Forget
10. Underwater
11. Wasted
12. Heal Over Time

Dead Stars have been compared to everyone from Dinosaur Jr. and Sonic Youth to Pavement and Teenage Fanclub. There are definitely strong similarities to early 90’s era Teenage Fan Club and Dinosaur Jr. Dead Stars embraces the best parts of a former era while keeping things sleek and modern, with songs packed with melodies and big choruses.

They’ve previously shared stages with bands like Fucked Up, Bear Hands, and White Fence, and have some hometown shows coming up this spring – see dates below.

Live dates

4/5 – Jersey City, NJ @ The Lamp Post (w/ Overlake)
4/26 – Brooklyn, NY @ Union Pool (w/ Heliotropes, Mean Creek)
5/6 – Brooklyn, NY @ Cameo Gallery (w/ Slothrust)
5/17 – New York, NY @ Cake Shop (w/ The Pharmacy, Shark?)

More about Dead Stars? Dead Stars was formed in 2009 by Jeff Moore (guitar, vocals), his cousin Jaye Moore (drums) and John Watterberg (bass). This Brooklyn, NY three piece came together to create their own brand of indie pop, with fuzzed out guitars, hook laden riffs and melodic sensibilities. During the first few years the band self released three EP’s before gaining the attention of local label Uninhabitable Mansions, who released 2013′s five song ‘High Gain’ EP. Building on the positive response of the record, Dead Stars went back into the studio to record their first full length ‘Slumber’. After hearing the album, the band was signed by Old Flame Records who will be releasing the record in June of 2014.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Dead Stars Share New Track From Upcoming Album - Culture Addicts

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.