Dean Garcia + Preston Maddox announce new project S T F U


Genius alternative electronic producer Dean Garcia, the musical mastermind behind legendary 90s electronic rock band Curve and electronic dream pop duo SPC ECO, has now collaborated with Preston Maddox of post-punk noise-rock band Bloody Knives in a new project, called S T F U.

Their debut LP ‘What We Want’, set for release on July 29, is laced with unfolding hypnotic loops that gradually progress to uptempo electronics, trip-hop laden beats, lush noise entwined with shimmering synths, and Maddox’s hazy trance-like vocals. You can take a listen to a few track lifted from the album via Soundcloud below.


The title track What We Want is also the first single. “My favourite thing about this track is it has a filthy quality to it that is essential, like being immersed in the pollution of our dystopian future where everything is covered in layers and layers of filth,” says Preston Maddox.

“W W W took about three months from beginning to end to conceive and record. Without a doubt, this is the most painless and connected record I have made outside of my close family. A surprising inspiring and joyful set of events and recordings,” explains Dean Garcia. “It kind of made itself as in there was never any doubt or soul searching as to what it should could or want to be. It just was its own self from start to finish, we just made it happen.”

Apart from his nearly 15-year history with Curve and his decade long project SPC ECO with daughter Rose Berlin, Dean Garcia has also toured the world several times and recorded multiple albums with such established artists as Eurythmics, Mick Jagger, Jeff Beck, Bryan Ferry, Sinead O’Connor and Ian Dury. Apart from Preston Maddox’s involvement in Bloody Knives and S T F U, he’ll also be playing bass with UK punk band Conflict on their upcoming US tour.

While their many commonalities and common circle of friends are what originally brought these two artists together, the debut S T F U album came to life in two separate studios. London is now home for Dean Garcia, while Preston Maddox is based in Austin, Texas.

“There is an advantage to being able to do what you want on your own musically. It puts you in the position to always work with someone because you want to, not because you have to, and I’m very fortunate to have that,” explains Preston Maddox. “Making cool music is the most important thing, and when you are working with the right people its the easiest thing to do too.”

‘What We Want’ will be available via the S T F U Bandcamp. It also features a free hidden gem, titled Paralyzed, which was recorded around the same time as the other songs on this album and features separately on the M A D album ‘Slow Mo’ with Steve Monti (Curve, Jesus & Mary Chain). Find it at

Track list:

1.   Secret – 04:48
2.   Second Time – 03:58
3.   Do It Now – 05:01
4.   Dead Right – 05:48
5.   New Shadows – 05:59
6.   Deeper – 05:03
7.   What We Want – 04:34
8.   A Thousand Cuts – 03:35
9.   Trickery – 05:15
10. Slow – 03:19
11. Promise – 05:31
12. Paralyzed – 05:35 (hidden track)