Death Bells share the otherworldly indie rock of ‘A Different Kind Of Happy’

Death Bells press photo

Death Bells have shared A Different Kind of Happy, a track celebrating small moments of ‘bliss and pure satisfaction’. The song is lifted from the duo’s forthcoming album ‘New Signs of Life,’ due out September 25th via Dais Records. The song’s freeing, gossamer guitars, inspired by Cleaners From Venus, lift the track to celestial heights, with the vocals affirming “Despite the uncertainty of life, I wouldn’t give, I wouldn’t give up.” The track celebrates the fleeting moments when you feel totally at peace, the band twisting their usual darkly atmospheric sound to shimmer and shine. The band explain the track: “This song conveys a feeling of bliss. It was written last year – there were a couple of fleeting moments where everything felt like it was in it’s right place. It was awesome. Obviously times are different now but we still have a lot to be thankful for, and our optimism remains intact.”

Watch the video clip for A Different Kind of Happy via YouTube below.

Death Bells is the longtime musical collaboration between Will Canning and Remy Veselis. Formed in 2015 during their late adolescent years in Sydney, Australia, the act has proven to be a mainstay in the alternative underground musical landscape both in their homeland and overseas during their five-year history. Blurring the lines of post-punk and garage rock, Death Bells has morphed and transformed as the two members have grown up throughout their late teenage years living together into early adulthood. With Canning’s distinctive baritone and the kinetic collection of reverb-drenched leads by Veselis being a constant during their musical output, the two made the permanent move 7,000 miles away to Los Angeles, California in 2018 where the current incarnation of Death Bells has blossomed.   

Following the releases of their debut E.P, much-loved first album, and seven-inch single on Funeral Party Records and their 2019 single on Metropolitan Indian, Death Bells have joined the Dais Records roster for their highly anticipated sophomore album ‘New Signs of Life’. Three years in the making, the release sees the act embrace their diverse tastes to deliver unforgettable hooks and more expansive sounds across its nine graceful songs.  

Engineered and mixed under the attentive eye of Colin Knight at Paradise Studios throughout mid-to-late 2019, ‘New Signs of Life’ is the band’s most complete work to date. Along with classic Death Bells brooding romanticism, the themes of the record divulge personal insight into their move across the world and both the strained and new relationships that have materialized throughout their existence. Slated for release on September 25th, ‘New Signs of Life’ is as advertised – it is the career-defining new chapter to commence the new decade. 

Death Bells New Signs Of Life album cover artwork

New Signs of Life’ track listing

1. Heavenly Bodies
2. Two Thousand and Twenty
3. New Signs of Life
4. Web of Love
5. The Sun That Shines Forever
6. A Different Kind of Happy
7. Alison
8. Sacred
9. Shot Down (Falling)

‘New Signs of Life’ is available for pre-order here