Deep Cut announce their dreamy new album ‘Different Planet’

Deep Cut

Deep CutDeep Cut have announced their new album ‘Different Planet’, which is the third album from the London dreampop/shoegazers founded by former Revolver frontman and Death In Vegas bassist Mat Flint. You can take a listen to a couple tracks lifted from the album via Soundcloud below.

Deep Cut is the guitar driven rock/pop band formed in 2006 around the songs of Mat Flint and Emma Bailey. The band also features Mat’s brother Simon Flint on bass and Ian Button on drums. Mat was formerly the frontman of 90’s band Revolver, and also played for Death In Vegas (along with Button) for over 10 years up until the early 2000s.

Deep Cut have released 2 albums on Club AC30 – ‘My Thoughts Light Fires’ in 2009 and ‘Disorientation’ in 2011 – and during that period also produced a series of remixes for other artists including Ringo Deathstarr, Tim Burgess, Daniel Land and The Megaphonic Thrift.

‘Different Planet’ is a collection of recordings made in 2015 – the third Deep Cut album that was unofficially put on hold when the band stopped performing live – now Gare Du Nord has announced its release on CD and digital.

Deep Cut’s songwriting and sonic influences come from a few different angles – Mat’s own roots in the world of dreampop/shoegaze, MBV, BJM, JAMC and co. are there in part. So is some of the noise/drone/Kraut/electronica of Death In Vegas, Primal Scream, hip-hop and dance music, as well as the 60’s psych pop of The Byrds, Love, The Beatles and The Velvet Underground. But Emma’s vocals and lyrics bring a real pop sheen to it all – modern Motown and Britpop influences combine…..a hint of Gallagher (if they’d been sisters not brothers), some Pauline Murray…..lots more….

Deep Cut – ‘Different Planet’
Available on CD, Digital
Release date: January 25, 2019

Deep Cut 'Different Planet' cover