Douglas releases debut album ‘Ashes’

Douglas Press photo
Photo by Alexander Brown

Douglas has released ‘Ashes,’ the new solo experimental, shoegaze/electronica project from Amy Douglas White, a veteran LA-based singer, songwriter and musician. Previously best known for contributing background vocals on M83’s seminal album ‘Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming’ and performing alongside Mariqueen Maandig Reznor in West Indian Girl, ‘Ashes’ brims with emotionally explosive, cinematic vignettes, melding together sadness and joy through the lens of ethereal electronica, with Douglas’ own versatile and expressive vocals always a throughline. Dense with pulsing rhythms and celestial layers of vocals, Douglas’s ambient pop is a hybrid of genres, rooted in melodic hooks, and yet rich with abstraction.

Douglas Ashes album cover artwork

‘Ashes’ track list
1. Pent 
2. Come with Me 
3. Clouds 
4. Seventeen 
5. Dime 
6. Subplay 
7. Most Days 
8. Alter Ego 
9. Melodía 
10. Do You Love Me 
11. Cigarettes 
12. Tinok

Buy/Stream ‘Ashes’ here:

To mark its release, Douglas is sharing a compelling short film set to the album track Alter Ego. Among the most cinematic tracks on ‘Ashes,’ Alter Ego features an alluring slow burn of Rhodes keyboard and Roland JX-3P synths set to ignite. The accompanying video burrows deep into the unspoken emotions evoked by the instrumental, depicting a poignant vignette in a boy’s adolescent life. In the short film, starring young actor Daniel Hoffman, a boy ventures out from his troubled household one evening and stumbles upon his older brother’s secret sexuality, evoking the song’s theme of hidden identity. 

Shot on 35mm film by acclaimed filmmaker Jac Cron who creates films centered around human connection, particularly within the LGBTQIA+ community, she was struck by the song’s cinematic resonance and inspired to create the video that tells a fictional (but all-too-real) story about how identity, acceptance, societal pressure and vulnerability affect members of their community. It’s a powerful final statement from Douglas and her debut album ‘Ashes’. Watch the video via YouTube below.

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.