Executioner’s Mask share ‘Hart Island’

Executioner’s Mask
Photo credit: Denniz Polk

‘Winterlong,’ the forthcoming full-length from Executioner’s Mask, is an epic bouquet of swelling synths, hypnotic melodies, and noisy guitars. The album’s ten new tracks marry post-punk and shoegaze while exploring themes of liberation and self-destruction in these end-times.  Featuring production from Jeff Zeigler (The War On Drugs) and Ryan Schwabe (Oneohtrix Point Never), ‘Winterlong’ is the type of sublime and immersive album that inspires the same visions often conjured by masters like The National, Alcest and Deerhunter. Executioner’s Mask has shared the album’s brooding third single, Hart Island. Watch the visualizer for Hart Island via YouTube below.

Executioner’s Mask released their demo True Blue in 2018, which was cripplingly dark and solemn while weaving infectious hooks at every turn.  Two years later, Executioner’s Mask released their Profound Lore debut, ‘Despair Anthems,’ which was raw, desperate and satisfying throughout.  The band continues their reign with ‘Winterlong’.

In the studio, Executioner’s Mask’s core group of Gambit, Mickle and Wilson added Christian Molenaar into the fold on synths; adding an ethereal edge to the band’s hard-driving melancholy. Additional touches were added by Kennedy Ashlyn (SRSQ) and Jake Superchi (Uada, Ceremonial Castings), each adding their distinct sonic fingerprints that send their compositions further into territories unexplored.  On stage, Gambit, Mickle, and Molenaar are joined by Anthony Charletta on bass, Melissa Lochambon on drums, and Daniel Gaona on guitar to create an explosive force of sound that come together with the potency of Children of God-era Swans.

Expanding on the kaleidoscope of ambition, expect to see re-mixes of ‘Winterlong’ released in a series of their own by an ensemble cast that features members of Deafheaven, Full Of Hell, No Joy, Xiu Xiu, and The Armed amongst an army of others.  The first of the ‘Winterlong’ remix albums will be released as a bonus disc that will come with the CD release of ‘Winterlong’ mastered by Angel Marcloid (aka Fire-Toolz).

Look for the psychedelic new album from Executioner’s Mask to be out on CD/LP/Digital from Profound Lore Records on June 17th, 2022.  Pre-order here + see the group on the road after the album’s release.

Executioner’s Mask, on tour

July 21  Philadelphia PA @ Ortleibs

July 22  Brooklyn NY @ St Vitus (Record Release w/ Pictureplane, Kill Alters)

July 23  Montreal, QC @ Turbo House

July 24  Quebec City, QC @ L’Anti

‘Winterlong’ track listing

1.  Things Fall Apart (feat. Kennedy Ashlyn)

2.  Two Vultures Fucking

3.  Hart Island

4.  Sick in Heaven

5.  Contempt (feat. Kennedy Ashlyn)

6.  Last Call

7.  Your Ghost

8.  Honey

9.  Flaming Creatures

10.  Wasting

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.