Farewell Republic release debut LP ‘Burn the Boats’

Farewell Republic

Today, Farewell Republic released their debut LP, ‘Burn the Boats’. After a year-long writing/pre-production process, ‘Burn the Boats’ was recorded during July 2010 at the Chrome Attic in Crystal Lake, IL and the Thunderdome in Ann Arbor, MI. The band holed up in their home studio and spent more than 9 months mixing the record after relocating to Brooklyn. The resulting LP captures a sound that is best described as atmospheric post-punk with a nice bite of shoegaze thrown in. ‘Burn the Boats’ was recorded by Michael Coffman, produced by Farewell Republic members Sivan Jacobovitz and Brian Trahan and mastered by Fred Kevorkian (White Stripes, The National) at Avatar Studios in NYC.

MP3: Farewell Republic – Wake
MP3: Farewell Republic – Come Irene


The band drew on a wide range of influences ranging from art rock and ambient electronic music to 20th century classical and traditional middle eastern folk music while recording ‘Burn The Boats,’which is quite evident. The album swings between energetic hopefulness and dispirited detachment, reflecting the era in which we live.



Track list:

  1. Time Won’t Mind
  2. With My Eyes Open
  3. Heat
  4. Crimes
  5. Trench Man
  6. Wake
  7. Gliss
  8. Dig a Hole
  9. This Young Generation
  10. For Your Health

Want to catch them at one of their release shows? Show details are below.
2/21- ‘Burn the Boats’ LP released on mp3/vinyl
2/22- Record Release Party at the Mercury Lounge (Manhattan) w/ Fantasmas
2/23- Record Release Party presented by Monument Festival at DC9 (Washington, DC) to benefit DC Vote w/ Heads on Sticks

For more information on Farewell Republic, visit farewellrepublic.bandcamp.com.

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.