Flat Worms announce 7″ single + new track ‘Petulance’

Flat Worms cover

Flat Worms coverLos Angeles’ newest punk trio, Flat Worms, is nothing short of a powerhouse. The trio consists of members from such renowned acts as: Thee Oh Sees, Ty Segall, Kevin Morby, and Dream Boys. Flat Worms are making their presence felt and not holding any punches with a new 7″ ‘Red Hot Sand’ set for release on April 29 via Volar Records.

Along with the group’s presence out in the world now, the group is offering a stream of their track Petulance, which will be featured on the forthcoming ‘Red Hot Sand’ 7” and then later on in April the group will be hitting the road up and down California with label-mates Susan.

“I was listening to Swell Maps one day and realized I wanted to play rock and roll again,” says Will Ivy (of Dream Boys, Wet Illustrated, Bridez), guitarist/singer for his new band Flat Worms. On top of his current solo project on Pretty Penny Records, he started writing noisy and smart punk tunes with the help of Justin Sullivan on drums (formerly the Babies, currently Kevin Morby) and Tim Hellman on bass (currently Thee Oh Sees, formerly Ty Segall and Sic Alps and Wet Illustrated). This three song 7″, 100 copies each red and gray vinyl Red Hot Sand on the A-side, Petulance and Sovereignty on the B-side, marks the band’s debut, available mailorder-only through the label, 300 on black available in stores. Recorded by Drew Fischer at Golden Beat Recording STudio and Wayne Faler at his home.

You can pre-order the album from Volar Records’ Bandcamp page. As well — if you’re in California — mark your calendar for upcoming tour dates.

Upcoming tour dates:
Apr. 28th – San Diego – The Hideout
Apr. 29th – Los Angeles
Apr. 30 – SF/Oakland
May 1st – SF/Oakland