Ice Balloons release ‘The Wasp’

Ice Balloons

Ice BalloonsThe Wasp is the latest track from Brooklyn’s no-wave, noise-punk supergroup Ice Balloons – made up of Kyp Malone (TV On The Radio), Sean Kennerly (Samiam), Sean Powell (Fuckemos, Surfbort), Giselle Reiber (Midnight Masses), Dan Scinta (Wild Yaks) and BA Miale. The track is lifted off of their upcoming LP ‘Fiesta,’ which will be out August 11th via Volar Records.Take a listen to The Wasp via Soundcloud below.

As much a cult as a band, helmed by a giant golden fly, Ice Balloons celebrates chaos as fizzles and lasers pop from every broken corner of their tumbled offerings. The Wasp is no exception – the track, like most of the record, was inspired by insects after a hallucination caused by altitude sickness during a trip to Colorado. Sean Kennerly tells The FADER, “The song chronicles the development of parasitic wasp babies inside a caterpillar as they slowly eat its body away until they are large enough to emerge. Two of the baby wasps, however, remain behind, sacrificing themselves by lodging in the wasp’s brain to turn it into a zombie that will hover over the newly emerged babies, guarding them from small predators with its last glimmers of life.” 

‘Fiesta’ is out August 11 on limited color vinyl and all digital formats via Volar Records. Pre-orders of the vinyl are available at the Volar Bandcamp.