Jónsi shares new video for ‘Sumarið sem aldrei kom’

Jonsi video still
Credit: Frosti Jón Runólfsson

As winter grows closer in the northern hemisphere, Jónsi shares a new video for Sumarið sem aldrei kom (The Summer That Never Came), lifted from his latest album ‘Shiver,’ out now via Krunk. Watch Sumarið sem aldrei kom via YouTube below.

Speaking on the new video, Jónsi says: “I asked my friend Frosti to make a video about Iceland but not the beautiful nature and landscapes. More like snapshots of everyday lives, the shitty weather and depression. I remember calling home to Iceland one summers day and talking to my sister. She was complaining that it was just endless rain and cold. It went from spring to fall and the summer never came. Icelanders live for these sunrays and light and when it doesn’t come, it’s hard. It’s a hard place to be, but also the best place to be. It’s the light – it’s the darkness. And everything in between. We also want to dedicate this film to Ólafur Kristjánsson (the weather man) that is in the film but passed away soon after this was shot. RIP.

‘Shiver’ features 11 new songs, including Salt Licorice featuring Swedish pop icon Robyn, alongside the acclaimed singles Exhale and Cannibal, his collaboration with Cocteau Twins’ Liz Fraser.

Jónsi had made a career of sweeping music that plumbed the depths of the human experience and our connection to the natural world. With his multi-million selling, award-winning band Sigur Rós, he transmuted the rugged terrain of Iceland into music that sounds pure, organic and untouched by the modern world, even as it exists comfortably within it. A. G. Cook’s production exists at the opposite end of the spectrum: synthetic, sometimes abrasive, and often on the cutting edge of experimentalism. On paper, their collaboration is surprising, but ‘Shiver’ is a beautiful record that pushes Jónsi’s otherworldly voice into startling new territories.

Shiver cover artwork

‘Shiver’ track list

1. Exhale
2. Shiver
3. Cannibal (with Liz Fraser)
4. Wildeye
5. Sumarið Sem Aldrei Kom
6. Kórall
7. Salt Licorice (with Robyn)
8. Hold
9. Swill
10. Grenade
11. Beautiful Boy