Keg share animated visuals for ‘Heyshaw’

Keg press photo
Photo credit: Katie Allen

Brighton based 7-piece Keg have shared the visuals for their debut single Heyshaw. The track is lifted from the band’s upcoming debut EP ‘Assembly’ out October 22 via Alcopop! Records. Produced by the band themselves and mixed by Sean Oakley (Show Me The Body, Scalping, Kae Tempest, Sorry), Heyshaw is a dizzying slice of joyous indie-punk.

Directed and animated by Andrew Howarth, the animated visuals for Heyshaw finds the protagonist getting into a spot of bother during an aeroplane flight. Speaking on the visuals the band commented: “Andy Howarth comes from a long line of inspirational Yorkshire raconteurs, his father being the premium ghost Walker In Bridlington and Whitby/the moaning Lisa in York and Scarborough (if you know you know). Striking a balance between ‘a scanner darkly’ and funny bones his animations make complete sense for kegs silly bleep bloops. Feast your eyes on the visual stylings, bringing Heyshaw to Aerial life.” Watch the Heyshaw video clip via YouTube below.

Singer Albert Haddenham went to on say this of the new single: “The first tune we wrote as Keg is a cheeky ditty about my mum’s family, growing up on Heyshaw farm in the Yorkshire dales and various RAF camps around the world, from Nidderdale to Kuwait, Kuala Lumpur to Driffield, Whippets to Frankfurters. The culture clash must have been quite stark. Musically the track was written at the height of our collective Devo frenzy, we are indebted to our Ohio forebears.”

An undulating barrage of jagged guitars, chaotic drums, spiralling electronics and foreboding brass provide a truly unique backing for Haddenham’s captivating rasp; reeling off the finer details of his mum’s global excursions and the many characters who came along for the ride.

Erupting from a frenzied passion for the ‘song’, Keg toe a fine line between the angular throb of contemporary post-rock sensibilities and a timeless necessity for harmony and meticulous songwriting.

This push-pull can be heard woven into each of their compositions. What you may not hear upon first listen is the achingly personal nature of their lyrics as well as the myriad influences injected into it by its instrumentalists, all of who come from varied musical backgrounds.

Albert (vocals), Joel Whitaker (bass) & Will Wiffen (synth) grew up together around the seaside Yorkshire town of Bridlington; and like many artists growing up in removed quarters of the country, they shared a yearning to leave. Spreading around different parts of the country after leaving school, they found their bandmates in their respective cities and found one another once again on the southern shores of Brighton.

Armed with a new-found wealth of influence and experience, and a thirst for musical liberation – set forth on a new pilgrimage to the battered ruins of Golgotha.

Frank Lindsay (guitar), whose background resides mostly in hip-hop, afforded the sound a unique pulse with a guitar sound which is manic, discordant but firm. Jules Gibbons (guitar, also in Spang Sisters) whose songwriting sensibilities come from a love of cadence and craft of beautiful soul ballads, imbued the band with his structured sense of composition.

Both Charlie Keen (trombone & shell) and Johnny Pyke (drums) come from classically trained Jazz backgrounds. Johnny – throughout Keg – is able to demonstrate this, as well as his ability to remain in the pocket. Similarly, Charlie can both compliment the bands manic moments as well as improvise, uniquely bringing the trombone to the foreground of the sound.

Keg Assembly cover artwork

‘Assembly’ EP track list

1. Presidential Walk
2. Breaking Rocks
3. Heyshaw
4. Farmhands
5. Kilham

There is but one aim that Keg aims to achieve – to write good music, with a wry smile. Keg’s debut single Heyshaw is out now. The band’s debut EP ‘Assembly’ will be released October 22nd via Alcopop! Records.

Pre-order / Pre-save ‘Assembly’ EP:


12 August, London – Sebright Arms (supporting Blue Bendy)
17 August, Brighton – Prince Albert (supporting Opus Kink)
17 September, Brighton – Green Door Store (supporting Bull)
18 September, Portsmouth – Psyched Fest

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.