LOOM announce UK live dates with Black Peaks


LOOMTwo years in the making, LOOM’s 10 track self-titled debut features the bands previous singles Nailbender, Hate, Lice and Bleed On Me along with eight brand new tracks.

Loom cover
Track listing

1. Lice
2. Hate
3. Get A Taste
4. Leopard
5. Salt
6. Seasick
7. Bleed On Me
8. Nailbender
9. Barbed Wire
10. Slowly Freezing Heart


Alongside the release, LOOM have also announced three new UK live dates with Black Peaks. They will be playing the following shows:

4th July – La Belle Angele, Edinburgh – Tickets
5th July – Sugarmill, Stoke On Trent – Tickets
6th July – Forum, Tunbridge Wells – Tickets

LOOM’s new album is out now via Silent Cult Records.

Loom formed through a shared distaste, boredom, and frustration with new music. They recorded and released two cassettes within their first year, the latter being a showcase of their most prominent initial influences – a six-track covers ep of The Jesus Lizard, Bad Brains, Pixies, GG Allin, Misfits, and Warsaw. They felt that it was a necessity to broadcast their intent as a band as aggressively and directly as possible.

Off the back of those first releases the band earned plaudits from the likes of Zane Lowe and Daniel P Carter at BBC Radio 1, supported The Rolling Stones at Hyde Park and over the past few years toured across the UK and Germany with artists including Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes, Queen Kwong, and Turbowolf, along with a number of headline tours.

Loom took a step back from the initial ‘hype’, with frontman Tarik Badwan saying “Labels and journalists were quick to assume we had a certain sound and wanted to have an influence on that.” The band didn’t want to make someone else’s idea of a debut album.

The songs Loom have written needed to be presented exactly how they want them to be. They didn’t want to be accused of contrived revivalism or as part of a particular scene. They needed to find the right producers and the right label to understand where they were coming from. The band recorded half of their debut album themselves and the other half with John Coxon at the legendary Ray Davies’ Konk studios.

The result is a collection of songs that are made cohesive by the aggression that runs throughout them. It very much spans the spectrum of sub-genres that all essentially come from that same place – tracks such as Lice, Bleed On Me and Hate all merge that 70’s Stooges punk thrust and a 90’s grunge infused sound, meanwhile Barbed Wire exhibits a more classic US hardcore punk drive, whilst Seasick calls to mind the sounds of The Melvins. Later tracks such as Nailbender even leans towards a more Metal-influenced Misfits-esque goth-punk sound.

The debut album is the biggest statement a band makes and Loom have spent the best part of four years preparing theirs. Having perfected the ten tracks that make up their self-titled album and with a vast range of critical acclaim, renowned live shows and a series of sold out releases in their arsenal, it’s obvious Loom now have everything they need to show everyone what they’re capable of on their own terms.