Mayflower Madame shares new music video for single ‘Swallow’

Mayflower Madame press photo
Photo by Sven Santelmann

Mayflower Madame have shared the new music video for their track Swallow, which is lifted from their forthcoming album ‘Prepared For A Nightmare’. The album is set for release on March 27, 2020 via Only Lover Records in CD, LP and Digital Formats. Watch the Swallow music video via YouTube below.

Mayflower Madame is a psychedelic post-punk band from Oslo, Norway. Mayflower Madame is Trond Fagernes (vocals, guitars, bass), Håvard Haga (guitars) and Ola J. Kyrkjeeide (drums).

Swallow is the second single from our upcoming album, showing a dreamier, more pop-oriented side of the band compared to the darker, more hard-edged first single Vultures. We have not really been conscious about it while writing the song, but it kind of sounds like inspirations from shoegaze and surf-psych have been blended in with our more typical aspects of psych-noir and post-punk. However, we still feel that it’s true to our “signature sound” while also contributing to the upcoming album’s variety and wholeness. Swallow is a love song – it’s about the dependence and fragility one might feel in a relationship – involving both a fear of and a desire for submission,” says Trond Fagernes.

Their debut LP ‘Observed in a Dream’ (2016) earned them excellent reviews and tours in both North America and Europe. Through eight tracks of psych-theatrical ingenuity, shady shoegaze and 1980s dark romanticism, the album conveyed the wintry feeling of their home country – icy and gloomy, haunting and majestic.

In conjunction with a 10-date U.S. tour in May 2018, Mayflower Madame released the EP ‘Premonition,‘ a four-track collection of apocalyptic love songs that also turned out to be a favorite among music bloggers. Since then the band has done mini-tours and festivals in France, Germany, UK and Eastern Europe in between recording sessions for their second LP.

Over the past years, Mayflower Madame has shared the stage with bands like Killing Joke, Moon Duo, Night Beats, Psychic Ills, Froth, The Underground Youth, Crocodiles, Cosmonauts and La Femme, which further might give you an indication of their sonic landscape.

Their long-awaited second LP ‘Prepared For A Nightmare’ sees the band delving even deeper into their own distinctive blend of psych-noir and post-punk while also including elements of shoegaze and noise-rock. It will be released worldwide March 27th 2020 via their main label Only Lovers Records (France) in collaboration with Little Cloud Records (USA) and Icy Cold Records (France).

Mayflower Madame Prepared For A Nightmare album cover artwork

‘Prepared For A Nightmare’ track list
1. Prepared for a Nightmare
2. Vultures
3. Swallow
4. Ludwig Meidner
5. Never Turning (In Time)
6. Sacred Core
7. The Night Before
8. Goldmine
9. A Future Promise
10. Endless Shimmer