New Fries share new single ‘Lily’

New Fries press photo

New Fries have shared the final single lifted from their forthcoming album ‘Is The Idea Of Us,’ out on August 7th via Telephone Explosion. The band’s first new material since 2016’s ‘More’ (produced by Holy Fuck’s Graham Walsh), Lily is a perfect example of New Fries’ glitching and fidgeting No Wave inspired meditations.

About the new track, the band said, “Lilydale, New York is a caged community inhabited almost exclusively by mediums–those who communicate with the spirit world. It is a community of liars and people with special spiritual gifts. People across North America travel here to connect with the deceased. Anni spent many summers in Lilydale as a kid–her grandfather was a medium.

Watch the video clip for the scorching track Lily via YouTube below.

The Toronto-based experimental legends are one of the best kept secrets in the city, and with their new album they delve deeper into their unconventional, ever-changing sound. Working closely with Carl Didur (Zacht Automaat, formerly U.S. Girls), they settled on a fresh new direction. Focusing more on space and repetition, finding the in-between and reflecting on it, examining that transition. ‘Is The Idea Of Us’ is anxious in its repetitions and unsure of genre, a reflection of musicians and non-musicians making music together; New Fries insist on doing it differently.

New Fries Is The Idea Of Us cover artwork

‘Is The Idea Of Us’ track list
1. Bangs
2. Genre
3. Lily
4. Mt. Tambora
5. Genre
6. Ploce
7. Genre
8. Genre
9. L’Express
10. Genre
11. Genre
12. Arendt / Adler / Pulley Pulley Pulley Pulley
13. Genre

‘Is The Idea Of Us’ is out on August 7th via Telephone Explosion. It’s available for pre-order here.