Oceanwires release new single ‘Beware the Heartless’


OceanwiresSeattle-based band Oceanwires have revealed the first single Beware The Heartless from their forthcoming LP ‘There Never Was A Was’ on February 15 (pre-order). The official video for Beware The Heartless which was directed by Matt Wesson.

Oceanwires have a Seattle single release party coming up on December 14 at Barboza with Dust Moth + Razor Clam. Tickets are available here.

‘There Never Was A Was’ was produced and recorded by Steve Fisk (Car Seat Headrest, Nirvana, Naked Giants, Soundgarden, Wedding Present, Low, Beat Happening) and Matt Bayles (Minus the Bear, Mastodon).

Oceanwires is the story of a band seeking the space between the waves with the conviction that there never was a was. Entering the studio with only rough silhouettes of songs, the band wrote as the tape rolled. There was no past version of the song to reference or inform the process, only the future.

Lyrically they explored the paths connecting who they are, who they were, and who they will become. Timeless in nature, specific in the now.

Sonically inspired by the angular guitar works of Television and Savages, Dave Einmo (Head Like a Kite) and Aaron Starkey (Gibraltar) initially set out together to find the space between their own waves three years ago as they started writing ideas around the singular promise of an ancient Korg KR-55 drum machine. It was a start, but not an ending.

Tension breeds creativity. Risks nurture imagination and reward. This was the simple concept behind the formation of Oceanwires. Pull songwriters away from their familiar songwriting habits and inspire them to collaborate in new ways that stretch them outside of their comfort zones. Many authors. One book. Now go write it.

‘There Never Was a Was’ track list

1. Fuel + Reasons
2. Beware the Heartless
3. Fall Into the Boat
4. Islands Keep Silence Before Me
5. Eagles
6. Winter Song
7. Everybody Says Don’t Do It
8. New Morning Sun
9. Pieces of the Moon