Oslo polymath Lokoy ramps up the weird in ‘relay’ video

Lokoy press photo
Photo credit: Xin Li

Norwegian artist, producer and creative maverick Lokoy has shared a new video for his single relay (with Nils Bech). Beware!!! This one is NSFW!!! The track is lifted from his acclaimed full length debut album ‘badminton’ – out now via Propeller Recordings.

A dazzling polyrhythmic pop cut incorporating African-inspired percussion and sampled Icelandic church choirs, the video for relay – directed by Sebastian Kåss invites the viewer to an Apathetics Anonymous group session in Oslo. The ‘AA’ group’s attendees include rising Norwegian artists, actors and musicians such as GABIFUEGO (of Boy Pablo), Kamara and Safario. The group meet regularly and challenge each other in luring out emotions such as laughter, embarrassment, happiness and pain by completing tasks such as fighting, undressing, and more. Watch the NSFW video clip via YouTube below.

relay is lifted from Lokoy’s debut album ‘badminton,’ which at its core is a dizzying no-holds-barred exploration of pop. His futuristic, charming production is constant throughout. Across the 15 tracks, he brings to the table a host of exciting new Norwegian talent, including Nils Bech, Safario, Moyka, Emilie Østebø and Sofus.

In Lasse Lokøy you’ve got it all: bassist, singer, songwriter, producer, polymath and party-starter. Following previous collaborations and releases with some of Norway’s most exciting prospects (girl in red, Jimi Somewhere, dePresno), Lokoy has quickly become one of Oslo’s most in-demand producers and collaborators.

Beginning his solo career back in 2018 with his ‘Can We All Go to Bed’ EP, he was swiftly praised for his unique production flair and sonic ambition, by the likes of NME, DIY Magazine, The Line Of Best Fit, Clash Magazine, Dork Magazine and more. Now with debut album badminton receiving wide critical acclaim, Lokoy looks set to align himself with some of the most exciting young producers, not just in Norway, but in the world.

‘badminton’ album details
Lokoy badminton cover artwork

‘badminton’ track list

1. classic city girl
2. relay (with Nils Bech)
3. [weak soup]
4. both eyes (with Safario)
5. [young boy]
6. morning sun (with Sofus)
7. badminton
8. a mistake (with Emilie Østebø)
9. [freaking disaster]
10. murder in my mind (with Moyka)
11. i never missed you like i do now
12. limbo (with Hart)
13. glitter (with Varpu)
14. [stekt bacon]
15. ghost town

Lokoy’s debut album ‘badminton’ is out now. https://lokoy.lnk.to/badminton

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.