PACKS share new single ‘Brown Eyes’

PACKS press photo
Photo Credit: Feng Jiang

Last month, the Toronto/Ottawa band PACKS announced their sophomore LP ‘Crispy Crunchy Nothing,’ which is set for release via Fire Talk Records on March 31st. The follow up to their acclaimed 2021 debut ‘Take The Cake,’ which earned accolades from outlets like The FADER, Stereogum, NYLON, Paste, BrooklynVegan, NME, Gorilla vs Bear and Bandcamp, who called the LP “the sound of classic indie rock as delivered by a promising new voice.” The album was announced with the single 4th of July, which earned best of the week nods from outlets like Uproxx, Consequence and Alt Press who called it “a delight”. Now, the band are sharing a second single from the album a track called Brown Eyes. You can check out the video for Brown Eyes via YouTube below.

PACKS’ new LP sharpens the laid back appeal of the band’s debut, displaying a newfound flair in its arrangement and production that heightens the subtle strangeness of leader Madeline Link’s songwriting. Where the album’s first single settled on a breezy, folk adjacent sound, Brown Eyes is a burst of sludgy slacker rock that holds a low key sense of menace beneath its sunny exterior.

I had lots of fun writing this song because it’s a simple rock song about falling in love disorientatingly hard and fast,” says Link. “Disorientationally? Disorientably? Love disorients me.”

PACKS Crispy Crunchy Nothing cover artwork

‘Crispy Crunchy Nothing’ track list

1. Cheese
2. 4th of July
3. Dishwater
4. Abalone
5. Sunscreen + Epoxy
6. Brown Eyes
7. Not the Same 
8. Late to the Festivities 
9. EC
10. Say My Name
11. Smallest One
12. Rag Doll
13. Laughing Til I Cry
14. Always Be a Kid 

Pre Order:

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.