Praises shares ‘Prey’ video by director Christopher Mills

Photo credit: Alex Gray

Toronto’s Praises, the dark electronic solo project of Beliefs’ Jesse Crowe, has shared the video for her latest single Prey which was created by acclaimed director Christopher Mills. Check it out via YouTube below.

Praises’ debut album ‘In This Year: Ten of Swords’ will be released on December 7th by Hand Drawn Dracula (Chastity, Tallies, Dusted) while she currently continues her tour of Europe and the UK. More information about the album and upcoming live performances can be found below.

Following a pair of EPs recorded with a full band, Praises’ ‘In This Year: Ten of Swords’ features all instruments played and self-recorded by Jesse Crowe, with co-production from her longtime collaborator Josh Korody, whose work as a producer includes releases from Dilly Dally, Partner, and F***ked Up. As the shoegaze/industrial band Beliefs, Crowe and Korody have earned praise from outlets including Pitchfork, The Guardian, Billboard, NOISEY, Exclaim!, FADER, Stereogum, BrooklynVegan, Dazed, Clash, and The Quietus.

Praises arrived at a time when Crowe was struggling to find an outlet for her most personal demons. The project was created as a quiet conversation on the love, loss, and lessons that can’t quite fit within the public forum of a collaborative band. With songs coded in life’s stories, she invites friends and lovers to find lines encrypted in the lyrics that point directly at them. Deeply personal, yet highly fictionalized.

Over the years since Praises’ origins, Crowe has been learning and growing her musical palette from solo guitar to full band and now has expanded to feature piano, modular programming, and hardware synths. She has also moved forward to self-production, with rhythmic additions and production nods to her Beliefs bandmate Josh Korody, who added texture and structure to the album via modular synth. With influences ranging from Portishead to Nick Cave, Praises pulls from both a masculine and feminine struggle to bring the torment back into the piano where it belongs.

Praises’ ‘In This Year: Ten of Swords’ will be released by Hand Drawn Dracula on December 7th and is now available for pre-order here. More information about the album is below.

Praises 'In This Year: Ten Of Swords' cover

‘In This Year: Ten Of Swords’ tracklisting
1) Love Unkind
2) All Demon’s Reign
3) Prey
4) Welcome Home
5) Run
6) Three Of Swords
7) Anyone’s Anyone
8) C To C
9) Closer