Psymon Spine share new song + video ‘Jumprope’

Psymon Pine press photo
Photo by Rachel Cabitt

Psymon Spine have shared their new single and music video Jumprope. The track features Psymon Spine vocalist Sabine Holler delivering clever commentary on city life (which can be demanding and constant, not unlike jumprope-ing) over a driving beat and funk-inspired bassline that calls to mind LCD Soundsystem and Talking Heads. 

Sabine Holler explains how the Jennifer Medin-directed video came about: “Due to Covid restrictions, I’ve been staying in Germany (where I lived before coming to New York) while the rest of the band is in the states. We asked Jen to come up with an idea for a music video that would connect us between continents. Jen joined the rest of the band in Montauk, where they were staying at our friend’s beach house, working on new music. Meanwhile in Berlin, I had my two (also very talented) friends Alicia Perez and Maria Arespacochaga film and direct me doing my parts per Jen’s overall vision. We thought the brutalist German architecture, along with my angular dance/exercise moves, would be a funny contrast to the soft fall colors of Montauk where the boys were at the time.”

Watch the video for Jumprope via YouTube below.

Fusing psychedelic pop and the deep grooves of dance music, Psymon Spine’s music oozes with melodic hugeness—but the places this Brooklyn electronic pop outfit takes their songs is truly out there, exploring complicated feelings through a singular approach to left-of-center dance sounds. Only a year ago, band members Noah and Sabine were playing in the dream-pop group Barrie, who broke out following a string of buzz-making singles, but ‘Charismatic Megafauna’ proves that Psymon Spine are on a different journey, exploring sounds ranging from disco to early techno and motorik’s incessant pulse. Psymon Spine put their own addictive stamp on the sounds of the past, with surprises at every turn and the type of lush synth work that could only come from brilliant students of dance music. Reflecting optimism and catharsis, ‘Charismatic Megafauna’ is a heady trip through left-field pop that packs its own emotional wallop.

‘Charismatic Megafauna’ track list
1. Confusion
2. Modmed
3. Jacket
4. Jumprope
5. Milk (feat Barrie)
6. Channels
7. Different Patterns
8. Real Thing
9. Solution
10. Unwound

‘Charismatic Megafauna’ is available to preorder via Northern Spy, and a special EU/UK edition of the LP is available via Dinked Edition.