Radkey announce debut album ‘Dark Black Makeup’ + share title track


Radkey’ have announced their debut album, ‘Dark Black Makeup,’ which is due out on August 21. Recorded primarily in the UK alongside producer Ross Orton (Arctic Monkeys, The Fall, Jarvis Cocker), the album contains 13 tracks that show off the band’s knack for combining stadium-sized riffs with surprising pop sensibilities.

Along the way, Dee, Isaiah and Solomon Radke, the three brothers that make up Missouri-based band, unleashed two EPs (‘Cat And Mouse’ and ‘Devil Fruit’) and knocked out tons of big-ticket festival appearances including Riot Fest, Download, Japan’’s Punkspring and Coachella. They even made their television debut on Later… With Jools Holland.

The ambition of ‘Dark Black Makeup’ is evidenced by the heightened songwriting and broadened sonic palette, but the energy behind the music remains the same—visceral, urgent, and raw. It is the sound of three people doing what they love…loudly.

The record’’s title track is a kind of high-decibel wake up call for young people to take ownership of their own lives: a sort of punch in the face for teen angst that is made all the more visceral coming from three musicians just barely out of their own teen years. Listen to the new track “Dark Black Makeup” via YouTube below.

‘Dark Black Makeup’ will be available August 21 on CD, digitally and LP on the band’s own Little Man Records under exclusive license to Strange Loop Records with worldwide distribution through Kobalt Label Services and can be pre-ordered here. Visit iTunes to receive the new tracks “Dark Black Makeup” and “Parade It” when you pre-order the album.

Track listing:
1. Dark Black Makeup
2. Romance Dawn
3. Love Spills
4. Parade It
5. Best Friends
6. Le Song
7. Hunger Pain
8. Feed My Brain
9. Sank
10. Song of Solomon
11. Evil Doer
12. Glore
13. Feel

Radkey will be playing live at select U.S. tour dates and European Festivals this summer including Pukkelpop, Reading and Leeds. A full North American tour is planned for September.

Tour dates:
Jun 06 – Tulsa, OK @ Cains w/ Flogging Molly
Jun 07 – Kansas City, MO @ KC Live w/ The Offspring
Jun 18 – New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge w/ Wolf Alice
Aug 21 – Hasselt, Belgium @ Pukkelpop Festival
Aug 29 – Reading, UK @ Reading Festival
Aug 30 – Leeds, UK @ Leeds Festival

For more information on Radkey, visit radkey.net.

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.