Rafter announces New Album ‘XYZ’ + stream lead single


Rafter is the project of songwriter, producer, and multi-instrumentalist Rafter Roberts, who’s spent the past decade releasing a series of sonically diverse albums via Asthmatic Kitty. On October 28th, he’ll release new album ‘XYZ,’ his first for Joyful Noise Recordings. It’s currently available for pre-order, and can take a listen to lead single You Are The Last Of Your Kind via Soundcloud below.


One of the most intense music nerds you may even meet, Rafter pursues everything he sets his mind to — which has included playing in bands since the age of two, building recording studios, making music for commercials, and eating vegan — with a sense of fearlessness and a refreshing lack of hipness. His sound has been described as everything from “spazz-pop” and “quirky indie” to “ridiculously experimental,” with each release being a little weirder and more unpredictable than the last.

Rafter XYZ cover

‘XYZ’ track listing:
1. I’ve Done The Strangest Things
2. Lonely World
3. You Are The Last Of Your Kind
4. Life Like
5. Oblivion
6. The Things I’ve Learned For Reggae
7. When I Die I Wanna Get Some Of My Blood
On Them
8. Rafter vs. Mai Mai
9. We Could Be Monsters
10. Weird Animal