SebastiAn shares ‘Sober’ featuring Bakar

SebastiAn press photo

Innovative French artist SebastiAn has shared a brand new single Sober. This is the fifth track lifted from his sophomore album, ‘Thirst,’ which is released November 8th via Ed Banger Records / Because Music. The album is available for pre-order now. Listen to Sober via YouTube below.

SebastiAn says about Sober: “I’m thrilled to have Bakar on my new single because he has the best communicative energy in the whole world. Making the track together was a breeze; he’s so easy to work with, I love his instinctive intensity.”

Bakar on Sober: “Working with Sebastian has been a great progression for me, a dream of mine too. We started working on music for my LP and once I learnt that he was working on a follow up album I instantly wanted to be involved! I feel honored that he brought me into his world.”

The pulsating synth driven track features rich vocals from rising London artist Bakar and a signature SebastiAn bassline.

Previous tracks released from the new album include Thirst, Run for Me featuring US R&B singer Gallant, Better Now featuring American singer Mayer Hawthorne, and Beograd.

SebastiAn says the approach of making the new album was formed by his previous production work with the contrasting personalities of Frank Ocean and Charlotte Gainsbourg and switching his process accordingly. He explains: “I found this really interesting. My record came about from all the encounters I made going between these two projects.”

‘Thirst’ tracklisting
01. Thirst
02. Doorman ft. Syd
03. Movement
04. Better Now ft. Mayer Hawthorne
05. Pleasant ft. Charlotte Gainsbourg
06. Yebo ft. Allan Kingdom
07. Sev ft. Sevdaliza
08. Sweet ft. Loota
09. Sober ft. Bakar
10. Time to Talk ft. Sunni Colòn
11. Beograd
12. Handcuffed to a Parking Meter ft. Sparks
13. Devoyka
14. Run for Me ft. Gallant

Revered French photographer Jean-Baptiste Mondino has once again shot the cover art for the album. While for ‘Total’ he captured SebastiAn as a modern-day Narcissus kissing himself, for ‘Thirst’ he contrasts this as he photographs him in a desert punching himself.

SebastiAn has been releasing pioneering and acclaimed music via label Ed Banger Records for years. Since his debut album, SebastiAn has also produced for other artists including Frank Ocean, Kavinsky, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Philippe Katerine, Woodkid, and has created remixes for Daft Punk, Kelis, The Kills, Rage Against the Machine and more.

SebastiAn’s revolutionary debut featured his signature eclectic combination of sounds – techno, electro, house, funk, soul, pop and classical elements – to create something new and unique. He has also co-produced several film soundtracks including Quentin Dupieux’s ‘Steak’ (2007) – in which he also had a leading role – and Romain Gavras’ ‘Our Day Will Come’ (2010) and ‘The World is Yours’ (2018), which he produced with Jamie xx.

Outside of traditional music releases, SebastiAn is also heavily involved in the worlds of art and fashion. He recently began a long-lasting collaboration with world-renowned fashion house Saint Laurent and the luxury label’s creative director Anthony Vaccarello. He created the sound for most of their catwalk shows, including this week’s Summer 2020 show and the label produced the visceral visual for ‘Thirst,’ which was directed by Gaspar Noé.

SebastiAn on tour:
Sat Nov 02 – Paris, FR @ Pitchfork Paris here
Wed Dec 18 – Los Angeles, CA @ Fonda here
Thu Dec 19 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall here
Sat Dec 21 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall here