Secret Shame announce debut album ‘Dark Synthetics’ + share first single

Secret Shame press photo

Had enough of sunshine, popsicles, and bright summery colours? Well, we have the cure to those summertime blues with some moody, darkness from a new post-punk band called Secret Shame. They’ve announced their debut full-length ‘Dark Synthetics’ (which be out September 6 via Portrayal of Guilt Records), and to give you a gloomy taste of what to expect on the LP, they’ve shared the first single Dark. It’s a powerful track about mental health and watching yours crumble as a result of watching everyone else’s crumble around you. Take a listen to the track via Bandcamp below.

Their sound resurrects the moody deathrock style that swept through the 80s, as their frontwoman Lena’s captivating vocals cut through dark atmospheres created by the band’s gigantic, reverb-soaked sound, building to cathartic lyrical moments.

The band is a five-piece lineup features Ryynikki’s razor-sharp lead guitar melodies, drummer Nathan and bassist Matthew’s propulsive rhythm section and guitar/synth player Billie rounding out their synthesized galactic punk sound that perfectly back Lena’s exorcising vocal performance.

‘Dark Synthetics’ was recorded in January 2019 at The Ward in Richmond VA with engineer Ricky Olson. The band poured everything they had into the recording.

“There’s not a single word I didn’t write from the pit of my stomach.” Lena says “The entire record even though the song dynamics change has one solid emotion which is the struggle of inner turmoil and being trapped inside yourself. It’s the feeling of holding a scream in the back of your throat.”

Secret Shame Dark Synthetics cover artwork

Dark Synthetics’ tracklisting (Spotify pre-save)

1. Gift 
2. Comfort 
3. Creature 
4. Dark 
5. Haunter 
6. Calm 
7. Storm

The band will be digitally releasing the album on September 6th through the band Portrayal of Guilt’s imprint (who’s releasing it on cassette/CD), a day before their biggest show to date at Hopscotch Festival on September 7th. Check out the other tour dates below.

Upcoming tour dates
7/14 – Asheville, NC – Lazy Diamond (w/ Jenny Besetzt)
7/26 – Asheville, NC – The Mothlight (Pansy Fest benefit show)
8/17 – Asheville, NC – Static Age Records (w/ The Mob)
9/07 – Raleigh, NC – Hopscotch Festival
9/16 – Asheville, NC – The Mothlight (album release show, w/ Thin Pigeon, Kangarot)