Sisters of Your Sunshine Vapor release ‘Milky Water Jesus’

Sisters of Your Sunshine Vapor
Sisters of Your Sunshine Vapor

Detroit Psych-rockers, Sisters of Your Sunshine Vapor, are notorious for their haunting aura.  Complete with textured guitars, eerie organs, and a booming backbeat the band encompasses a grandiose, far out sound. They’ve premiered the first track, Milky Water Jesus, lifted from their upcoming album, ‘Lavender Blood’. Check it out via Soundcloud below.

After they almost died while flying back from their first European tour, members of Detroit trio Sisters of Your Sunshine Vapor got off the plane feeling weirdly transcendent. Terrifying as the flight might have been, it led to the creation of some of the most sublime, hypnotic and spacey music of the band’s career.

Written and recorded shortly after that fateful flight, Sisters of Your Sunshine Vapor’s new full length, ‘Lavender Blood,’ feeds on that emotion to deliver a confounding blend of blissfulness and terror. Lavender Blood is SOYSV’s fourth release marking a slight departure from its conceptual predecessor, ‘Desert Brain. The new album was recorded in a remote lodge nestled in the woods of northern Michigan where the band could escape back into that mindset that initially inspired the record. The trio took advantage of the building’s large cathedral ceiling and open floor plan to craft their fullest and most honest sounding album to date.

Though from Detroit, Sisters of Your Sunshine Vapor’s reach is long. They are two time Austin Levitation veterans that have shared the stage with the likes of The Black Angels, (with whom they are often favorably compared) A Place to Bury Strangers, Black Moth Super Rainbow, Dead Meadow, The Warlocks, Nick Turner’s Hawkwind and played festivals such as Mid-Point, Montreal Distortion Psych Fest, SXSW, and CBGB Music & Film Festival.

‘Lavender Blood’ will be released worldwide, October 27th, 2017.

Sisters of Your Sunshine Vapor Lavender Blood cover

Lavender Blood’ track listing

1. Lavender Blood
2. Die Die Die
3. Sky Greece
4. Rocking Horse Brain
5. See You in the Mourning
6. Cat Lovers Skull
7. Milky Water Jesus
8. Rainbow Scarecrow

For more information on Sisters of Your Sunshine Vapor, visit