SPICE release ‘Viv’ LP + share new single ‘Bad Fade’

Spice press photo
Photo credit: Nedda Afsari

‘Viv’— the second LP by California rock n roll unit SPICE — expands their palette of damaged anthems and addiction poetics with a more bristling, visceral sound, distilled from years in the trenches of bands, break-ups, and breakdowns. Out now via Dais Records, ‘Viv’ alludes to broader notions of vividness — sonic, visual, and otherwise. 

What unites and ignites the songs on ‘Viv’ across different energies and arrangements is their specific sense of emotion— rawness refined into reckonings, approaching truth, born of cold mornings, bad luck, and too many wrong turns. Waking up where you’re not supposed to be, living a life you don’t recognize. Engineered by Jack Shirley and mixed/mastered by Sam Pura in Oakland, the mix achieves that rare balance of every element being elevated but distinct, with voices, strings, and drums each given space to blaze parallel paths.

The album’s third single Bad Fade is out now with a vivid new music video. Watch the video clip via YouTube below.

‘Viv’ continues the upward trajectory set for SPICE from their self-titled debut and 2021’s A Better Treatment b/w Everyone Gets In 7”.  Singer Ross Farrar explains their chemistry succinctly: “We all got in a room and this is what came out.” 

SPICE Viv cover artwork

Viv’ track listing

1.  Recovery

2.  Any Day Now

3.  Ashes in the Birdbath

4.  Threnody

5.  Melody Drive

6.  Dining Out

7.  Live Scene

8.  Vivid

9.  Bad Fade

10.  Climbing Down the Ladder

‘Viv’ is available here on CD, Vinyl + Digital formats.

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.