Store Front release debut EP ‘Task’

Store Front press photo

New York-based five piece Store Front have released their debut EP ‘Task’. The five songs on ‘Task’ are hook-forward pop songs about trying to make something of a life that feels squalid (sometimes in a great way). Laura Snapes of The Guardian says EP opener Rip the Price Off, which was previously released as a demo, unites Sonic Youth and Stereolab calling it “louche yet invigorating,” and Brooklyn Vegan’s Bill Pearis says it sounds “…a little like Everything But the Girl by way of ’90s Liz Phair.”

You can listen to ‘Task by Store Front at

“‘Task’ is about making private jokes in your head about all the big concerns you’re trying to keep track of, especially in the cases when those things are supposed to feel gravely serious,” says singer Amy Rose Spiegel. “Rip the Price Off is about feeling like you have to be successful on other people’s terms, which is both a sick joke and sometimes an actual fact.” Later on the EP, she says, “I Would is a sweet, upbeat song about pretending you want to be alone when what you love most of all is other people.”

Store Front Task EP cover artwork

EP tracklist
1) Rip the Price Off
2) Fugirlzi
3) You Gave Me
4) I Would
5) I Love You Like I Say I Do 

The band will play their EP release show at Elsewhere on February 19th with openers Cafuné and Riverwild. Tickets are on sale here

Store Front is Amy Rose Spiegel (vox/lyrics), Peggy Wang (bass, formerly of The Pains of Being Pure at Heart), Bob Marshall (guitar), Brandon Louro (guitar), and Chalky Edwards (drums).