SWMRS announce debut album ‘Drive North’


Bay Area quartet SWMRS have announced that their debut album ‘Drive North’ is due out on February 12th, 2016 via Uncool Records. Along with the new album announcement, the band also shared their new single Figuring It Out, which is lifted from ‘Drive North’. You can take a listen to the track via Soundcloud below.

Recorded in the band’s hometown of Oakland, CA, ‘Drive North’ was produced by FIDLAR frontman Zac Carper. “I wanted to work with SWMRS right when I heard their demos. And the way they all work together as a band is really inspiring. You can tell they have been friends since they were children,” commented Carper on the collaboration.

“This is very much a coming of age record. It holds within the title one of the most important realizations that we had growing up. We spent a lot of time in our early years trying to find our creative roots, envying Los Angeles and wishing we could be from where ‘the scene is happening’,” offered singer Cole Becker on the album’s lyrical content. Elaborating on the inspiration for the album’s title, Becker shared, “‘Drive North’ is a sort of battlecry for everywhere else in the world where kids are making rock and roll music. Its about cultivating your own creativity within the world that you live in and basking in your individual identity.”

‘Drive North’ will feature previously released tracks Miley and Uncool. You can check out the band’s DIY music video for Miley here.

In September, SWMRS wrapped a US tour supporting Wavves and Twin Peaks. Praising the band’s energetic Seattle performance, tastemaker independent radio station KEXP offered, “Part pop punk, part ruthless west coast surf, SWMRS are just what the kids need, and we’ll be seeing them again real soon.” Last month, the band shared the main-stage of Orange County’s influential Beach Goth music festival with Grimes, Mac Demarco, Ghost, and The Drums. SWMRS will be announcing US tour dates shortly.

SWMRS Drive North cover


‘Drive North’ track listing:
1. Harry Dean
2. BRB
3. Miss Yer Kiss
4. Turn Up
5. Figuring It Out
6. Ruining My Pretending
7. Uncool
8. Miley
9. D’You Have A Car?
10. Hannah
11. Silver Bullet
12. Drive North


For more information on SWMRS, visit swmrs.com.