Synkro shares new track from debut album

Synkro photo B&W
Photo Credit: Jody Hartley

Manchester-based producer Synkro will release his debut album ‘Changes’ via R&S sister label Apollo Records on September 18. The album is available for pre-order on iTunes and Bandcamp. Last week, he shared slow-burner Midnight Sun, which you can stream via Soundcloud below. 

Starting his career in the dubstep era, with nearly 40 releases to his name, Synkro AKA Joe McBride has always resisted easy classification – his music winds together such diverse influences as Boards Of Canada, dBridge, Burial and Oneohtrix Point Never, whilst still remaining utterly unique. His trademark warm sonics, and emotive melodies are ever-present on his forthcoming debut album ‘Changes’ – his much favoured vinyl samples being joined on this record by a new found love of analogue equipment, as he explains “I got addicted to vintage synths after a trip to Japan last year – I came back with a Juno-6 & SH-101 both of which play a big role in the album.”

His recent, lauded work with Indigo under the Akkord name set pulses racing with what Resident Advisor described as the duo’s ” fiercely technical take on dance music, one that you could dance to or simply admire in all its steel-plated glory”. Fittingly,’Changes’ acts as a soothing balm after the intense workouts that Akkord music incites – from the lush pads and rolling arpeggio pulse of the intro, to the understated dubstep meets ambient/balearic glory of the title track to the more muscular Let Me Go – awash with cavernous, soulful vocals and melancholic strings, to the epic, hymn like D&B ballad Body Close featuring the dulcet vocals of Lyves, Synkro once again proves his effortless ability to create cinematic textures and surreal sonic vistas in long form.

Inspired by a self professed desire to “take knowledge from the past & use it to change the future” McBride is an eager student of the past masters, as he explains: “Finding early electronic music has always been a massive inspiration to me, learning the roots of where everything we listen to now comes from. It always amazes me how much has already been done with electronic music but it still keeps progressing. Listening to artists like Florian Fricke (Popol Vuh), Klaus Schulze, Pete Namlook & Tangerine Dream has really made me look at it in another light.”


Track listing:

1. Overture
2. Shoreline
3. Your Heart
4. Changes
5. Let Me Go
6. Holding On
7. Body Close
8. Empty Walls
9. Midnight Sun
10. Harbour


Tour dates:
September 23-27 Seattle, WA – Decibel Festival


Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.