JD Samson + MEN Release Latest EP

JD Samson & MEN release their new “Time EP” on Tuesday, May 8 via their MEN Make Music moniker which is the second of 4 EPs the band will release during 2012. After releasing the self-produced Next EP in February, the Time EP with the tracks “Time”, “Take It Away” and “Make Him Pay” (AKA JK Remix) includes production work from CHAINS (which is Alex Suarez and Ryland of Cobra Starship). The standout track is Take It Away with machine gun rhythms, driving guitar riffs and singalong friendly lyrics.

Watch the video for original version of Make Him Pay below.

MP3: MEN: Make Him Pay (Ezekiel Remix)
MP3: MEN: Make Him Pay (AKA JK Remix Dub)

“Working with Alex from CHAINS was an incredible collaboration. As our first real foray into production with an outside producer, we felt comfortable and excited to take the songs to a new level,” says JD who met CHAINS while writing with Cobra Starship earlier this year.

These four EP releases are true to the unique and collaborative style of earlier MEN releases, such as the partnership for a tour only split 7″ with Brazil’s CSS, and “Who Am I to Feel So Free” featuring Antony (from Antony & The Johnsons).

JD Samson + MEN is Le Tigre’s JD Samson and Michael O’Neill who focus on the energy of live performance and radical potential of dance music. The band will tour Europe this August, and U.S. in the Fall. Their music speaks of issues such as wartime economies, sexual compromise, and the demand for liberties through lyrical content and an inventive, high-energy stage show.

Cover art: Jim Drain

Time EP Tracklisting:
1 Time
2 Take It Away
3 Make Him Pay (AKA JK Vocal Remix)

For more information on MEN, visit http://www.menmakemusic.com

JD Sampson + MEN Release New EP ‘Next’

JD Samson + MEN released their new EP ‘Next’ via their own label MEN Make Music on 2/21. Take a listen below.

MP3: JD Sampson + MEN – Next

The Brooklyn-based band/art/performance collective are set to release 4 EPs in 2012. JD Samson + MEN pull together Le Tigre’s JD Samson and Michael O’Neill with Johanna Fateman and artist Emily Roysdon contributing as writers, consultants, and producers.

The next EP, ‘All The Way Thru, will be released in spring and was produced by Alex Suarez from Cobra Starship.

The band is on tour now with dates in New Zealand, Australia, South East Asia, and North America.

Tour dates:
2/29 – Hobart, AU @ Brisbane Hotel
3/1 – Melbourne, AU @ Phoenix Public House
3/2 – Sydney, AU @ Red Rattler
3/3 – Sydney, AU @ MardiGrasLand Part 2012
3/4 – Adelaide, AU @ Adelaide Festival
3/7 – Singapore @ Avalon
3/8 – Hong Kong @ Grappas Cellra
3/9 – Shanghai, China @ LIVE
3/10 – Beijing, China @ Yu Gong Yi Shan
3/11 – Hanoi, Vietnam @ Hanoi Rock City
3/27 – New York, NY @ Dropout @ WIP (34 Vandum St)
4/27 – Boulder, CO @ Communikey Festival
5/10 – Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex
5/11 – San Francisco, CA @ The Rickshaw Stop
5/12 – San Diego, CA @ Bar Pink
5/17 – Honolulu, HI @ Next Door (Acoustic Appearance)
5/18 – Honolulu, HI @ Soho

Watch the video for MEN – Who Am I To Feel So Free below.

For more information on JD Sampson + MEN, visit www.menmakemusic.com.