Austra announce last show of 2014

Austra liveAustra are closing the year out by playing a show at The Opera House on Friday, December 19th in Toronto. The band will be supported by Blue Hawaii, Petra Glynt with a special performance by the Chinese Opera of the Soong Kam Wing Music and Arts Centre, to whom a portion of the show’s proceeds will be donated.

Advance tickets are $20.00, $25.00 day of show and you can purchase them here or at  Soundscapes, Rotate This! and The Tiny Record Shop.

Continue reading

The Rural Alberta Advantage release new track from upcoming album

RAAThe Rural Alberta Advantage have unveiled another song from their upcoming third album. Runners in the Night is lifted from ‘Mended With Gold,’ which will be released on September 30 via Paper Bag Records. Watch the lyric video for the track below via YouTube.

You can also go to the Rural Alberta Advantage’s YouTube Channel for exclusive commentary by Nils Edenloff on writing Runners In The Night here. ‘Mended With Gold’ was recorded at Toronto’s Candle Recording with the band’s long-time live engineer Matt Lederman (Hayden, !!!, Besnard Lakes) alongside co-producer Leon Taheny (Owen Pallett, Austra, Fucked Up). The album is available for pre-order now here and digitally via iTunes.

Continue reading

PS I Love You premiere new video + announce European tour dates

PS I Love You promoPS I Love You have released their brand new video for the title track from their latest album, ‘For Those Who Stay’. The video was directed by the amazing Christopher Mills – watch the video via YouTube below. 

‘For Those Who Stay’ is available on limited edition clear green vinyl, CD, digital, and cassette here.

Continue reading

PS I Love You reveal Teen Daze remix + new album details

PS I Love YouKingston, Ontario’s PS I Love You are set to release “For Those Who Stay,” their third studio album, on July 21 (UK)  & July 22 (NA) via Paper Bag Records. Today, they shared a Teen Daze remix of the first single & title track lifted from the album – listen to the remix via Souncloud below.


Listen to the original version of the track below.

“For Those Who Stay” was made after Paul quit Kingston for a different big smoke. The band went back to Kingston to record it at the Bathhouse, which was the first time the duo recorded in “a proper studio”. Pre-order “For Those Who Stay from the Paper Bag Records Shop.

psilu cover


In My Mind At Least
Bad Brain Day
Limestone Radio
For Those Who Stay
Afraid of the Light
Friends Forever
More of the Same


PS I Love You will be touring in support of the album and hitting the road starting with Sled Island and NXNE. See the full list of tour dates below.

June 18 Calgary, AB @ Sled Island
June 19 & 21 Toronto, ON @ NXNE
August 1-3, 2014 Sackville, NB @ Sappy Fest
August 18 Detroit, MI @ The Pike Room
August19 Toronto, ON @ The Drake
August 20 Ottawa, ON @ Zaphod Beeblebrox
August 21 Montreal, QC @ Casa Del Popolo
August 22 Boston, MA @ Great Scott
August 23 New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge
August 25 Washington, DC @ DC9
August 26 Columbus, OH @ Rumba Cafe
August 27 Chicago, IL @ Schubas

For more information on PS I Love You, visit

Austra announces new EP

Photo credit: Kate Young

Photo credit: Kate Young

Austra has announced their new four-track EP titled, “Habitat,” which is due out June 17th via Paper Bag Records.  It is available for pre-order now on limited-edition hand-numbered 12″ here or from iTunes here.  All pre-orders will receive an instant download of  the title track, Habitat, and you can take a listen to it via Soundcloud below. 

Continue reading

DIANA reveal new video

khze_DIANAToronto’s DIANA have revealed their George Fok-directed video for Strange Attraction. The track is lifted from their debut album, “Perpetual Surrender,” which can be purchased via Paper Bag Records. Watch the video via YouTube below.

Continue reading

Born Ruffians release deluxe edition of Birthmarks

born-ruffiansToronto’s Born Ruffians have announced the details of the deluxe 2-disc edition version of their album “Birthmarks” due out on March 25th, 2014 via Paper Bag Records – pre-order it here. The two-disc set will include the tracks from original album plus four brand new tracks and five acoustic versions recorded by Luke Lalonde outside of a studio in an intimate setting. Watch the video for super-catchy 6-5000 lifted from the album via YouTube below.

In the meantime, Born Ruffians are debuting two new acoustic tracks and artwork every week until release date on their website here.


Disc 1
Ocean’s Deep
Permanent Hesitation
Cold Pop
Golden Promises
Rage Flows
So Slow
With Her Shadow
Too Soaked To Break
Dancing On The Edge Of Our Graves
Never Age

Disc 2
Cherry Wine
Oh Cecilia (*Exclusive to CD)
With An Ax
Rage Flows (Acoustic)
Wandering Eye
Needle (Acoustic)
Never Age (Acoustic)
Your Sufferin’ Heart

For more about Born Ruffians, visit