The Criminal World announce upcoming mini-LP ‘We Spilled Blood For The Money’

The Criminal World press photo

The Criminal World have announced their upcoming We Spilled Blood For The Money LP, which will be out on May 29 via Cercle Social Records. The Mini-LP is comprised of five songs, recorded in a modest Portland basement and showcases a trio destined for something special. The EP follows the ‘Pure Vory’ demo cassette, and subsequent release of Seeing Double and Paper on 7″ via Farewell Records (London, UK) in 2016.

The band released the first single lifted from the record, Landing Flare. Listen via SoundCloud below.

Drawing heavily from the likes of Curve, Stone Roses and the Swirlies, layers of synth and ethereal vocals haunt the dense soundscapes, which were recorded by the band, mixed by Toby Francis (Ariana Grande, Kanye West, Travis Scott) and mastered by Adam Gonsalves at Telegraph Mastering.

Although the mini-LP nods to the afore mentioned masters of gloom, The Criminal World possess a powerful, brighter and heavier sound than its forebearers, exemplifying the art of the possible and planting a firm, dark flag in the modern West Coast underground.

The Criminal World We Spilled Blood For The Money cover artwork

‘We Spilled Blood For the Money’ track listing

1. Mox Jet
2. Blood Money
3. Continental Baths
4. Landing Flare
5. And Wounds Equal For Equal