The Death Set share video for ‘Set For Death’

The Death Set press photo

The Death Set have shared Set For Death, a song that singer/guitarist Johnny Siera describes as “our daily musical reminder of death to remember to live”. The track is accompanied by a video that embraces this by seeing the band reenact twenty-five legendary movie deaths in a single take. Scarface, Independence Day, Hook, Spartacus, and many more are all in the firing line for the Death Set treatment. Check out the video clip for Set For Death via YouTube below or listen here.

Set For Death is released in anticipation of the band’s soon-to-be-released fourth album ‘How To Tune A Parrot’ (September 10, Cobraside/Behemoth). The track follows the recent releases of No Where Is Here, which collaged 2006-2010 NYC DIY show footage against a a twisted visual of Death Set duo Johnny Siera and Dan Walker playing guitars with their heads reversed, and the frantic Elephant, which which matched stream-of-consciousness lyrical absurdity with a visual that satirized the ongoing pull towards self-destruction that has accompanied Siera’s last 7 years of clean living and self-care.

‘How To Tune A Parrot’ finds The Death Set distilled, for the first time, down to the duo of Johnny and Dan and is their first full-length release since 2014’s ‘King Babies’ EP (Dim Mak). This album follows on the heels of a sustained period of sobriety and personal introspection that brings a new depth to the band’s trademark incandescent bursts of twisted noise pop. Or, as Siera wryly reflects, “we went from being scumbags to taking a good look at ourselves.”

Alongside Set For Death and Elephant, ‘How To Tune A Parrot’ delivers 11 other new songs that are served up in two-minute bursts of distorted melodies, buzzing synths and frantic beats, all overlaid with bratty vocals that set their sites on disparate topics, from creative blocks, to NYC’s dark underbelly, and to embracing bad decision making. An experience that DZ Deathrays’ Simon Ridley neatly encapsulated as “a hyperactive, hook filled, party enabling sonic barrage of an album. It’s as close as you can get to taking amphetamines audibly.” 

The Death Set’s 15-year journey has been an emotional rollercoaster; from international festival slots and a Super Bowl commercial sync, to the tragic passing of founding member Beau Velasco, and the critical acclaim that was bestowed on the album that paid tribute to Velasco’s spirit, Michel Poiccard. With ‘How To Tune A Parrot’, the band find themselves back in an upswing with a renewed creative energy that reignites the hell-bent energy of a warehouse show. With its sweaty club scene cover art, to the non-stop sonic assaults within, and the tongue-in-cheek album name (a reference to Walker’s description of Siera’s vocal tone before he’s warmed up), the entirety of ‘How To Tune A Parrot’ screams that, after far too long, the mayhem is back.

The Death Set How To Tune A Parrot cover artwork
How To Tune A Parrot’ track listing

1. Overload Damage
2. Fall Down
3. Bad Decisions
4. Elephant
5. I’m Sick With It
6. Oh My God
7. Set For Death
8. Best Kept Mess
9. Closed Eyes
10. No Where Is Here
11. Mad World feat. Ho99o9
12. Remind Me Who’s Suffering
13. The Enemy Is My Best Friend

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.