The Ninth Wave announce debut LP + share ‘Used To Be Yours’

The Ninth Wave have announced their debut album ‘Infancy,’ which will be released in two parts in 2019: Part I on April 26 and Part II on November 15. The Glaswegian four-piece have also shared their new single Used To Be Yours. Take a listen to the track via YouTube below.

On new single Used To Be Yours, bassist Millie Kidd takes lead vocal duty for the first time, delivering an impassioned yet subdued back-and-forth with Haydn. Their deep introspection and emotional maturity far belies their youth, which is what makes The Ninth Wave’s lyrics so endearing; “the song is set in the No Man’s Land that you find yourself in after a relationship ends, where you still feel like you have some sort of possession over each other,” says Millie. “It reflects upon the inability to find comfort in one’s own company.” Set to a slow-burning riff and enriched by Millie and Haydn’s dreamy, narcotic vocals, Used To Be Yours is a certified stand-out from ‘Infancy’ and an addictive taste of what’s to come.

A brief glimpse into The Ninth Wave’s disruptive, convention-skewering world makes it clear in an instant that this is a band with something to say. Their sharp, self-assured lyrics take a no-holds-barred approach to documenting the state of society, the human condition and their own personal battles, all written from the very relatable perspective of a group of young people existing in a time defined by widespread unrest and division. From explorations of self-torment and paranoia (This Broken Design) to not being accepted by society (Flower Into Wounds) and the overwhelming fatigue of living in a superficial culture (Half Pure), ‘Infancy’ is a mirror of the darkest facets of living in 2019.

“We never started with a mindset of ‘We want to be like this band,'” says frontman Haydn Park-Patterson. “We’re always trying to do something new.” In a wildly oversaturated market of cut-and-paste indie, The Ninth Wave offer a shock of ’80s-infused power pop, drawing influence from the post-punk greats and a blend of their parents’ record collections, including Stevie Nicks, JJ Cale and AC/DC. The vast array of inspirations they cite culminates in something that is wholly unique, lending itself to no labels or sub-genres besides “the sound of The Ninth Wave.”

‘Infancy’ will be released in 2019 via Distiller Records, including the below tracks. Pre-order here (

Part I – April 26

  1. This Broken Design
  2. Used To Be Yours
  3. Half Pure
  4. All The Things We Do
  5. A Wave Goodbye To The People Who Said I’d Win
  6. First Encounters

Part II – November 15

  1. Human Behaviour
  2. Imitation
  3. Sometimes The Silence Is Sweeter
  4. Everything That You Have Left
  5. Unspoken
  6. Flower Into Wounds

\The band sold out a homecoming headline show at Saint Luke’s, Glasgow and recently wrapped up a UK tour with whenyoung, as well as a support slot for CHVRCHES at the SSE Hydro Arena. Shows in New York and SXSW recently preceded a huge European tour alongside The Blinders. With critical acclaim and an impeccable reputation on the live circuit both nailed, it’s only a matter of time before The Ninth Wave permeate the mainstream and cement their position as one of the British music scene’s brightest new prospects.

The Ninth Wave will play the below live dates in 2019, with more to be announced. Tickets available here.

04/26 O2 Institute2, Birmingham (with The Blinders)
04/27 O2 Ritz, Manchester (with The Blinders)
04/28 Saint Luke’s Glasgow (with The Blinders)
04/30 Scala, London (with The Blinders)
05/05 Stag & Dagger Festival, Glasgow (with Ratboys, Dream Wife and more)
05/07 MTC, Cologne (with The Blinders)
05/08 Molotow Skybar, Hamburg (with The Blinders)
05/09 Cassiopeia, Berlin (with The Blinders)
05/10 – 05/11 The Great Escape Festival, Brighton