The Rentals announce new album ‘Lost In Alphaville’

The Rentals

The Rentals have announced their new album, ‘Lost In Alphaville,’ which will be August 26 via Polyvinyl Record Co. The album is their first in 15 years, and was recorded with a lineup featuring Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig from Lucius on vocals, Ryen Slegr from Ozma on guitar, Lauren Chipman from The Section Quartet on strings and Patrick Carney from The Black Keys on drums, in addition to lead vocalist, bassist, keyboardist, and songwriter Matt Sharp (ex-Weezer).

The first track revealed from the record is Thought Of Sound – take a listen via Soundcloud below. You can download the track now from all digital music retailers.

The album will be available on CD, LP, and Cassette, and you can also get it by digital download via all online outlets. The LP will have a limited edition pressing of 1,000 copies on 180-gram “coke bottle clear” that is exclusive to the Polyvinyl e-store as well as a pressing on 180-gram black vinyl. Grab it on pre-order now from the Polyvinyl e-store.

Lost in Alphaville The rentals cover
Track listing:
01. It’s Time To Come Home
02. Traces Of Our Tears
03. Stardust
04. 1000 Seasons
05. Damaris
06. Irrational Things
07. Thought Of Sound
08. Song Of Remembering
09. Seven Years
10. The Future


The Rentals will return to the stage next month when they perform at the Nano-Mugen Festival in Yokohama, Japan on July 12 & 13. Additional dates are in the works.

Here’s a live performance by Blur covering The Rentals’ Friends of P with Matt Sharp – watch it below.

[youtube_sc url=”” theme=”light”]

For more information on The Rentals, visit

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.