TOBACCO releases first track ‘Eruption’ from new album


TOBACCO releases his third album, ‘Ultima II Massage, on May 13, 2014 via Ghostly.  He revealed the first track, Eruption (Gonna Get My Hair Cut at the End of the Summer) lifted from the album. Take a listen to it below via Soundcloud.


Ultima II Massage travels through TOBACCO’s own weird journey, with each track damaged to the point of contributing to some sort of greater, lurching Frankenstein-like state. “I spent a lot of time breaking it in all the right places,” says TOBACCO. “It ends up making the whole thing breathe – sometimes gasp for air. It feels more alive.”

TOBACCO explains his modified approach: “I wanted to push each song just enough, so that even when the album’s at its wildest, it’s something you can zone out to. It feels like a definitive end to a concept I’ve been trying to perfect forever. Maniac Meat was linear. This time I wanted to do a lot of different things and have them come together as one meditative piece. At least for myself.”

The album’s only contributor is Beck music director Brian LeBarton who shrieks as Notrabel on the grimy track Streaker. With 17 tracks, ‘Ultima’ is stacked with beautifully perverse hits – from the dirty Eruption, to the wobbly Face Breakout, to the distorted punk of Dipsmack, to the apocalyptic Spitlord. You may hear bits of Boards of Canada, early Def Jam records, and Gary Numan, or maybe just public-access TV and bad VHS dubs of ’80s horror flicks. Or the sun exploding and everything you’ve ever loved melting.

tobacco album cover
Track list:

01. Streaker (ft. Notrabel)
02. Good Complexion
03. Video Warning Attempts
04. Eruption (Gonna Get My Hair Cut at the End of the Summer)
05. Lipstick Destroyer
06. Self Tanner
07. Face Breakout
08. Blow Your Heart
09. Beast Sting
10. Dipsmack
11. Creaming for Beginners
12. Omen Classic
13. Pool City, McKnight Road
14. Spitlord
15. Father Sister Berzerker
16. The Touch from Within

Pre-order the album at The Ghostly Store or TOBACCO’s Store.

TOBACCO will be out playing live to promo the album, Check them out below.

Tour dates:
04/12 Morgantown, WV @ 123 Pleasant Street *
04/28 Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop
04/29 Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar
04/30 Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge
05/02 – 05/04 Austin, TX @ Austin Psych Fest
05/06 Baton Rouge, LA @ Spanish Moon
05/07 Birmingham, AL @ Bottletree
05/08 Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
05/09 Durham, NC @ Motorco Music Hall
05/10 Washington DC @ U Street Music Hall

* = w/ The Hood Internet

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.